Diary of a Nail Polish Addict: December 2013

Sorry for the lack of updates, but December was such a busy month and January kind of caught me by surprise. I’m currently stuck home with a flu, so I guess this is the right time to see what my nails wore in the last month of the year. FYI: I haven’t done my nails since then because of split ends; I think they need some time polish-free to get healthier.

56505bf25b4311e3b7d2127ea6e65569_8Loving this look so much! Lynnderella Tidy Whities is gorgeous on dark colours, especially in blue shades. I used it over Kiko 294 Indigo Blue and it looked fantastic: the result is a bit snowy/galaxy.

9d00df3c5e9911e3adf212add793e3ba_8This is definitely a festive look, much in tune with the Christmas spirit. I used Layla Ceramic Effect CE53 Killing Red on most nails, but I accented a couple of random nails with Essence My Fortune Cookie (a warm gold shade), topped with a glitter bomb like Orly Halo.

ce45dfde60f111e3ba150e6285b91557_8I’ve done half-moon manicures before this one, but it was the first time I kept the base “naked”. I prepped my nails with Nfu Oh Aqua Base, then applied two glitter nail polishes by Butter London (Rosie Lee and The Black Knight). I must try to do the same with a red nail polish.

4c2af50a68c811e3a89712a46b1414bb_8Wearing Oh Eric…! by Lynnderella is frustrating: it’s such a vibrant hot pink shade with an incredible array of multi-shaped glitters, but it seems I can’t get it properly on camera. This time I used it over Barry M Gelly Hi-Shine in Blood Orange, which is probably one of the most pigmented nail polished I own – one coat is enough to get perfect coverage.

7e199a886aeb11e3bc9c0eb1b3553254_8Talk about festive nails! I channelled my inner Goldfinger with a super-sparkly manicure. I used Essence My Fortune Cookie again, topped with Deborah Lippmann Boom Boom Pow, which contains 24K gold dust.

73cc4dec6d4211e38aac12b07b284f61_8The last manicure I did in December 2013 is probably my favourite. I used Essence Date in the Moonlight (a gorgeous dark blue shade with tiny sapphire glitters) and topped with a top coat – Hello Holo by Essence – which never fails to amaze. I’m a sucker for anything glittery/holographic and this top coat is the embodiment of both. It works magic on dark colours, but it’s nice on lighter shades, too.

The holiday season has gone, but the upcoming spring has got some great things in store, like the Spring Reveries collection by Deborah Lippmann, which is already available on her website. Blue Orchid is in my wish-list, along with a couple of shades (Red Silk Boxers and Pseudo Silk Kimono) from the Silk collection. Have you set your eyes on some spring nail polishes or are you still indulging in dark winter shades?

 

2 comments

  1. The Black Knight è stupendo! Io continuo ad essere innamorata dei glitter e non utilizzarli mai perchè non riesco mai a toglierli senza rovinare l’unghia! Mi sembra di aver letto di una base Essie che diventa Peel Off ma non ho approfondito, quindi non so se esiste davvero… sarebbe una svolta!

Leave a Reply

