Christina Aguilera’s Style: The Voice (Season 5), Final Results

Have I died and gone to disco glam heaven? This was my first thought this morning when I saw pictures from the finale of The Voice. Christina looked simply smashing but that’s not the only noteworthy detail of the show’s final episode. Lots of guest singers (Celine Dion, OneRepublic, Paramore, Ne-Yo, Aloe Blacc, among the others) sang live, but the stage also witnessed the return of all the team members of this edition. Only three made it to the end, but I’m glad the show gave everybody the opportunity to perform again.

tumblr_mxzjzbmUXO1qbhhnbo1_500And now back to Christina. What can I say? She blew me away with a disco queen look, curly mega hair, minimal make-up and super-long lashes. This season I’ve appreciated most of her outfits but probably this one is among my favourites.

xtina_vintageazzaroShe hasn’t worn vintage clothes very often, but this time the 70s vibe was genuine, since she wore a Loris Azzaro original piece. The Tunis-born designer had Sicilian parents but reached fame in France; I like to think of him as the French alter-ego of Halston – both of them had a sexy and independent kind of woman in mind. The halter dress chosen by Christina is made of black jersey and silver chainmail; the back is completely naked, a detail which adds fuel to the disco glam fire.

vlcsnap-2013-12-18-09h24m56s158She completed the outfit with crystal-studded platform peep-toe pumps and a gold bracelet. I’m glad she kept the accessory department simple, so as to let dress and hair do the talking.

The best part of the episode, and possibly of the whole season? The surreal moment in which she shared the stage with none other that Lady GaGa! I know this sounds crazy but they actually performed in a duet (they sang Do What U Want, from GaGa’s Artpop album) and killed it! I would never ever thought I could see such an event because everybody knows about the beef that GaGa and Christina have had over the years. Rumours of them copying each other and of GaGa sabotaging Bionic have been circulating since forever, but it’s good to finally see them together in such a great pop moment, which I think will seal the peace between them.

vlcsnap-2013-12-18-09h42m29s195Although not a GaGa fan, I must give her credit for knowing how to put on a show. Fog machines in full action, a sparkly shell, beautiful dancers and a baroque chaise longue were the ideal backdrop for a flawless performance. Both the singers wore golden outfits made of iridescent taffeta with diamanté details: GaGa wore a jumpsuit with kimono sleeves, corset belt and huge shoulder pads, while Christina opted for a slinky long-sleeved dress with central slit and V neckline (paired to her trusty Very Riche Strass pumps by Christian Louboutin).

vlcsnap-2013-12-18-09h41m26s71My favourite moment? Them getting cozy on the chaise longue. After seeing this I think my platinum blonde obsession has reached a danger level.

vlcsnap-2013-12-18-09h41m08s144Do you know what’s weird about this performance? It was not overtly sexy, but seeing them together was sexy indeed. Their performance was perfectly balanced, since no one tried to overpower the other, which I think was a sign of mutual respect (as Christina said later). Obviously you could hear Christina’s vocal abilities in full force, but this was balanced by GaGa’s own voice, which is powerful too, even if different from Christina’s.

tumblr_mxzkoowOWL1qeuk6oo1_500 tumblr_mxzkoowOWL1qeuk6oo2_500The performance was closed by a dramatic gesture – they threw their champagne glasses on the floor. Such a great way to close such a thrilling season. Mazel tov!

Since this is the last post about Christina at The Voice, let me spend a few words to thank all those who have taken some time to stop here twice a week to read my style recaps. It’s been hard to keep up-to-date with such a hectic rhythm, but it’s been great and all the signs of appreciation I’ve received so far are the greatest reward. Thank you so much from the bottom of my heart! I love you ♥

Source.

Leave a Reply

