Diary of a Nail Polish Addict: November 2013

For me, one of the unmistakable signs of anxiety/depression is the lack of nail inspiration. That’s the reason why I did my nails only 4 (yes, four) times last month. I felt miserable for a number of reasons and all I wanted to do was lying in bed and sleeping. I don’t know if devoting some time to improving my painting skills has helped me to feel better, but it has surely helped me to focus on other than my own fears.

photo (5)I definitely want to do this manicure again because I loved it so much! I’ve got a thing for half-moon manicures (for me they’re the epitome of chic), so I decided to go for an untried combination – nude and sparkling red. I used Deborah Lippmann Putty in Your Hands as base and China Glaze Ruby Pumps (aka the best red glittering shade ever).

photo (2)I’m currently on a nail polish ban (well, everything-make-up-related ban, to be honest, sigh) but last month I had the chance to get a bottle of Deborah Lippmann I Know What Boys Like for a very cheap price. As all the Deborah Lippmann polish names, this one is a homage to a song, too: it refers to a 1982 song by the American New Wave group The Waitresses. It’s a crème polish, described as “playful periwinkle”. The picture above was taken without flash and you can see the colour is definitely periwinkle.

photo (1)When I took a picture with flash, the colour turned into a fantastic electric blue! As a blue nail polish enthusiast, I’m happy to have it in my stash: it’s true it’s not an extremely unique colour, but it’s a nice addition nonetheless.

opi_redmyfortunecookieSorry for the bad pic. After taking a look at the manicure above, you can really tell something was wrong with me. I’m not that good at painting my nails, but I’m not this bad either. Oh, well, I guess I put my nail polish on on a particularly bad day. Btw, the colour I used is one of my favourites – OPI Red My Fortune Cookie, from the Hong Kong collection released in spring 2010. It’s a warm shade, incredibly easy to apply and pretty pigmented. 

greenmint_halfmoonmanicureLast but not least, my favourite manicure of the month – another half-moon mani I did with Essence That’s What I Mint! as a base and Essie Wicked. I love the combination of mint green/baby blue and black cherry. It was really a dream to do this manicure because I worked with two of the best polishes I have in my collection. That’s What I Mint! is a stunning shade which combines mint green and Tiffany blue; forget all the similar colours you may own, because this one beats them all. As for Essie Wicked, it’s everything I’ve always wanted Chanel Rouge Noir to be – extremely pigmented (I applied one coat only) and wear-resistant.

Now that it’s December 4th, I’ve already painted my nails once, so I’m sure next month I’ll have something more to write about ♥

Leave a Reply

