I Love the Idea of People Walking Away With the Idea of Hope and Possibility

I’m not a very sociable person and this has been a sort of leit-motif in my life. It may sound ironic, but I love outgoing *and* charismatic persons, probably because we tend to admire those who are so different from us. This can be said of my sister (I’ll talk about her, sooner or later) and of a few people I’ve had the chance to meet – virtually or in real life – in recent years. Virtually speaking, Isabella Cecconi is surely one of the these people I look at with admiration. She’s my “boss” because she’s the co-founder of The Harlow, the uber-cool website about all facets of human creativity for which I’m a contributor; to me, she’s the epitome of understated chicness, irony and vitality. For all these reasons and more, I’ve decided to ask her to complete the Proust questionary about self-perception, feminism, sexism and past memories for the You’ve Got No Reason Not to Fight column.

1235441_419899491453046_747773624_nWhat do you regard as the lowest depth of misery?
Whoever is superficial. I think about all those people who are so poor by being rich, who like to show off and think they can buy the world or buy people. Whoever feels superior to someone else.

What is your idea of earthly happiness?
… to be a drifter off to see the world… There’s such a lot of world to see… (cit.)

Who are your favorite heroines of fiction?
I’ve always being attracted to those rebel figures, so I guess my favorite might be Josephine “Jo” March Bhaer, from Alcott’s Little Women.  The strong and willful young woman, constantly attempting to subdue her personality. She cuts her hair, she becomes a journalist.

Who are your favorite heroines in real life?
All those women who have perfectly combined the double role of being mother and that of manager with a successful career. All those who have pushed the boundaries.

What is your most vivid memory of the 90s (from music, fashion, politics, culture)?
The Clinton scandal and how Hillary came out from her husband’s puddle of mud.

What does “feminism” mean to you?
Feminism is to me equal democracy, it means respect and freedom of being a woman by not being classified in any distinct role (mother, sister, daughter).

Have you ever given an active contribution to the feminist cause?
No, unfortunately I haven’t.

Have you ever experienced sexism?
Yes, almost daily. My experience comes from working with Italian politicians. Behind every male leader there’s always a great female assistant. I wish one day there will be exactly the opposite.

What are the most important rights women still have to fight for?
More justice in issues like sexual abuse and domestic violence.

The quality you most admire in a man?
Courage.

The quality you most admire in a woman?
Resilience.

What is your motto?
I forgive but I never forget.

What is the object that represents you most?
The anchor (being a sailing vessel!)

Who would you have liked to be?
With no doubt Lee Miller, adventurer and photographer.

Could you put your identity into a few key words?
Plain, irreverent, touchy, self-controlled, tongue-sharpened, sparkling, fond.

How do you imagine your identity changing in ten years? Or twenty?
I can’t see the future but I know it’s watching me.

I love how Isabella’s sparkling personality comes out from her answers and the cultural references she quoted in the questionary. I can only imagine what working in politics means; well, I actually think about that with utter terror, but I can see her owning her job and being a total badass at it. I believe you must be better than men when it comes to working with them/for them in such a complex and tough field, but – as Isa said – I hope we’ll be able to see a generation of competent women who will lead this country to a better future, with the help of – why not? – competent men.

I thoroughly enjoyed devoting a post to such an inspiring person like Isabella, but stay tuned for more interesting questionaries to come!

[1] The title is a quote from Sarah Paulson, one of my favourite actresses.

Leave a Reply

