Diary of a Nail Polish Addict: August 2013

August came and went so quickly! I didn’t really spend a proper holiday this year, just a few days in the mountains with my family, and if I look back, it seems it happened years ago. Well, I guess it’s because a new school year is just around the corner, so my mind is moving forward. Unfortunately I couldn’t devote much time to painting my nails, but I’ve got something new to show you anyway.

photoThe first manicure of the month was with one of my favourite shades ever – Across the Universe by Enchanted Polish. Every time I put it on, it surprises me with its complexity: it’s a multichrome (blue, purple, with some pink and emerald green reflects, too) studded with silver glitter. I could spend hours trying to capture all these effects on camera, especially under the sunlight, and be sure I wouldn’t be able to show you exactly how it looks in real life.

32ab5cd0066e11e3b9fd22000a9f4dd4_7I’ve got a thing with silver foil polishes, so I tried to do something super-sparkly. I used two coats of Orly Shine, topped with two coats of OPI Crown Me Already!, from the Miss Universe collection, launched in 2011. I’m so glad I had the chance to take pictures with sunlight, so you can see that my nails really turned into tiny mirror balls.

f9a686940b2c11e39d6522000a9f134c_7I don’t remember where I got the idea for the manicure above. I wanted to wear something sparkly (as usual), but didn’t want it to be too summery. I applied two coats of Mavala Berlin, a beautiful autumn grey, and topped it with two coats of Essence Glorious Aquarius, a blue and green glitter bomb. I really like the final result, and I think I’ll use this combination again next fall.

photo (1)A couple of weeks ago I finally visited the nearest NARS counter at Sephora in Padova. Let me tell you it was such a great shopping experience! Having the chance to see in real life all the products I’ve always bought online only was good and kind of rewarding. I finally put my hands on the Pierre Hardy for NARS Boys Don’t Cry blusher and on the satin lip pencil in Majella, but I also got a bottle of OPI Liquid Sand nail polish in Can’t Let Go, from the Mariah Carey collection, launched in spring 2013.

photo (2)Despite not being a fan of Liquid Sand/sugar-effect nail polishes, I was drawn to Can’t Let Go because it’s a stunning purple shade. It contains purple glitter, so the colour is beautifully amplified. The first picture was taken without flash, while the pic above was taken with flash and no top coat.

photo (3)This is Can’t Let Go with top coat (the picture was taken with the flash). Isn’t it stunning? One of the main reasons I don’t like this type of polishes much is that I don’t like having a gritty surface on my nails, which is a contradiction (it should be one of its strongest points). I think top coat makes the colour even more complex (you can see the 3D effect of the glitters), but be sure to apply lots of it, since Liquid Sand seems to literally “drink” top coat.

photoAnother new addition to my nail polish collection is a gold rose glitter bomb, Rosie Lee by Butter London. This is the second BL polish I own (I bought The Black Knight in London last January), and I totally love it – good longevity and such a romantic colour! For this manicure I applied three coats of nail polish and a top coat.

At the moment there’s nothing in my nail polish wish-list (shocker!), but I’m sure the fall/winter 2013 and the holiday 2013 collections will bring lots of shades to lust over.

 

Leave a Reply

