“If It Is a Paramount Film, I Probably Designed It”: A Bit of Fangirling for Film Costumes

ahelnew85_smallI don’t like writing about myself because I firmly believe I’m such a boring and old-fashioned person, but tonight let me tell you something. Along with music and literature, cinema has always been my way to escape reality. I’ve often found solace in the darkness of an empty cinema, where I’ve felt emotions I will never forget. The silver screen is a source of endless fascination because watching a film is not only a recreational activity: you’re willing to sit for more than two hours, to suspend your disbelief, to be entertained because you can’t help but yielding to the power of storytelling through images.

Isn’t it amazing and kind of magic when you meet someone who shares this same passion? I think I’m really lucky to have had a person – my friend Astrid – in my life for such a long time. We met in the early 1990s at university and we’ve been many times at the cinema together, whenever we had the chance to, in the afternoon (to watch Velvet Goldmine), in the morning (to attend early screenings at the Far East Film Festival) and of course at night (once we stayed up all night to watch Invasion of the Body Snatchers).  Many awesome cinema memories are connected to her, so you may understand my excitement when she asked me to join her in a Tumblr project about film costumes. Everybody knows my passion for fashion in movies and tv shows: even if I’m not an expert, it’s something I like writing about because the garments worn by a character always tell a story on their own. It’s clear I’m not a witty or brilliant blogger, but I think I’m second to none when it comes to analyzing and finding references in different cultural expressions. I’m extremely meticulous and precise and I love knowing more about details.

spotlightFor this reason, we’ve really done our best to make the blog – Film Costumes – grow; now that it’s been featured in the Tumblr Spotlight section and that it’s about to hit 10,000 followers, I think it’s time to show it some love here. You can follow the real deal on Tumblr or like our Facebook page. Astrid has rightly said we’re not rich, we’re not cool, our country is going through the worst economic and political crisis of the last decades, so it’s totally appropriate if we boast this tiny success a bit, right? I’m pretty sure Edith Head (one of my favourite costume designers ever) would approve.

Source.

4 comments

  1. Oh Super, se non sei tu witty and brilliant mi domando chi lo sia. Ti seguo da dieci anni ormai e ho sempre ammirato la tua conoscenza, la tua preparazione e la tua professionalità nel gestire il tuo blog. Sai alternare articoli seri e interessanti ad altri più frivoli e divertenti rendendo il tuo blog un luogo di piacevole intrattenimento culturale. Continua così e urla al mondo intero il tuo meritato successo e chissà, magari un giorno tu e la tua amica Astrid diventerete “ricche e famose”. Un abbraccio.

    1. Sai che accetto con piacere i tuoi complimenti perché sono sinceri ed arrivano da una persona che stimo molto. C’è però da dire una cosa: una scrittura arguta e divertente è altro rispetto alla mia. Non è un’autocritica in senso negativo ma semplicemente un dato di fatto. L’ironia non fa proprio parte del modo in cui mi esprimo, anche se mi piacerebbe lo fosse; di conseguenza, non posso utilizzarla in quanto scrivo, proprio perché ne sono priva. Il sarcasmo abbonda, invece, ma tendo a non usarlo perché temo possa passare per cattiveria, allora lascio perdere. Quello però che so di avere dalla mia parte è il fatto che sono una secchiona, ovvero studio e leggo molto, da sempre, e questo cerco di comunicarlo sul blog. La mia non è una mente ironica ma metodica e meticolosa, doti che sono apprezzabili in certi ambiti (quando si tratta di analizzare qualcosa o di stilare dei percorsi multitematici, ad esempio), ed è su queste che devo concentrarmi. Ho passato troppo tempo cercando di passare per quella che non sono; ora invece ho capito che essere blogger/ragionieri (nel senso di precisi e meticolosi) può avere i propri lati positivi.

  2. Something to think about: if you sum the inhabitants of our two hometowns it’s less than 4,000 people. This gives you an idea of how much cosmopolitan we are, but I must admit that I always feel at ease in big cities too🙂

    1. That’s awesome.
      You know I love living in the middle of nowhere, but the idea of being cosmopolitan (blog-wise) sounds great!

Leave a Reply

