Diary of a Nail Polish Addict: June 2013

June is usually one of the busiest months of the year: it marks the end of the school year, true, but it also means lots of school meetings, documents to complete and things to do. Despite that, I was able to devote some time to one of my favourite passions – nails and nail polishes. I tried to experiment with some colours that I had never used before and by pairing different nail polishes.

foto (2)This candy white manicure was the first I did in June: I used OPI My Boyfriend Scales Walls (2 coats) and Essence Sparkling Water Lily (2 coats). The OPI nail polish is one of my favourite opaque whites because it’s not off white but has a touch of grey which makes it edgy; the Essence shade has a pearly gloss and is lovely applied on a white base. I would never use it alone because I hate pearly shades, but I like it like this.

foto 2Red nail polish is a classic but I’m quite tired of the dark red shades that have become so trendy since the launch of Chanel Rouge Noir. It’s true nails look so chic with dark red nail polish on, but wearing a bright red varnish is much more fun. Essence Redvolution had been sitting in my stash, untried, for a while, so I decided to give it a try. It’s a very pigmented, orange-based red, which makes me think of the 50s. Two coats are enough to achieve a perfect coverage.

foto (3)One of my favourite summer colours is mint green and Essence That’s What I Mint! is a beautiful creme nail polish. I applied two coats of it and I topped it with the golden bomb that is Deborah Lippmann Boom Boom Pow. The gold glitters on mint green have a subtle effect, similar to the “baroque” effect I achieve applying a flakey nail polish on a pastel shade.

foto 1I neglected it for many months but Essie Leading Lady made its comeback last month. I applied three coats of it and a top coat. You may remember I fell in love with it last January in London, when I got my first professional manicure. I wasn’t able to find it anywhere in stores, but I bought it online. If you think it’s a dupe of China Glaze Ruby Pumps, well, you’re wrong, because they’re pretty different. The point is that the shade by Essie is packed full of red glitters, which are bigger than the glitters you find in Ruby Pumps. I’ll try to make a comparison post of the two shades as soon as possible.

fotoAnother shade which was sitting unused in my stash was China Glaze Orange Knockout, the proof that I shouldn’t follow nail polish addicts like me on Instagram. I saw this neon orange shade on Arle’s Nails account (follow her, she’s awesome) and I immediately fell in love with it. I’m a fan of neon polishes and this one is lovely. I applied two coats; I recommend applying a top coat, too, because neon polishes tend to dry matte. I paired it to another orange shade I own, Riveting by China Glaze, from the Hunger Games collection. I’m not convinced by the final result, but the contrast between neon and the metallic finish of Riveting is quite nice.

foto (1)Ok, I’m currently on a make-up ban but I couldn’t resist grabbing a Nail Colour 3 nail polish duo by Essence: the colour combination was great and the price soooo tempting (2 euros only!). The colours included are Midnight Date (a beautiful deep blue with a slightly shimmering texture) and City That Never Sleeps (an incredible purple/blue shade with blue/emerald green flakies in it). I applied two coats of each, plus a top coat; the result is lovely. The chunky glitters in the top coat are not annoying and change colour with the light.

foto 1Last but not least, my nth attempt at half-moon manicure. My source of inspiration was Sunrise, a manicure I saw in Nails, Nails, Nails! by Madeleine Poole. My mani didn’t come out as good as hers, of course, but I really love the colour combination she used. I re-created the manicure with Lovie Dovie by Essie (the Barbie pink shade) and Barry M Gelly Hi-Shine in Blood Orange. This is probably the manicure technique I love the most, even if it’s actually difficult to do, but I keep on trying because I want to improve.

And now it’s your turn. Do you have any favourite summer shades or manicure techniques you like using in summer? I’ve realized I tend to use pastel/light/bright colours instead of dark ones, but I guess it’s just a consequence of the season we’re in, right?

Leave a Reply

