Diary of a Nail Polish Addict: May 2013

The end of May always means something really special to me: the end of the school year is just around the corner. This year has been really hard for me; I won’t have much time to relax, though, because many school-related tasks are waiting for me until mid July, but the idea I won’t be spending two hours a day driving is a huge relief. The end of each month, blog-wise, means a new page in my diary of a nail polish addict is on.

Ready for my May manicures? Here they are.

foto 1The first shade I wore last month is an Essence nail polish, Miss Universe. I’m sure you know Essence is one of my favourite nail polish brands: I’ve praised it many, many times because its varnishes are cheap and have a very good quality. Miss Universe is a beautiful blue colour with teal reflects and dark blue/green glitters; it’s much more complex in person than in picture. It reminds me of another Essence shade – Date in the Moonlight – but that is actually darker and less glittery. I applied two coats and a top coat.

foto (1)Even if I’m a nail polish addict, I’m not one who immediately jumps of the bandwagon of new nail trends. I’ve never fallen for magnetic polishes, for example, and I must admit I turned up my nose when I first heard about textured nail polishes. The idea wasn’t appealing at all, but I kept on reading good reviews about these new products, so I finally decided to give them a try. I bought two Kiko Sugar Mat shades – Strawberry Pink (641) and Starry Back (646) – and I received another one – Golden Mandarin (639) – as a birthday present. All these three shades have fine glitters in them, which give them an interesting texture and multidimensionality. I did the manicure above with the pink and the tangerine shades (three coats of each). The pink colour is my favourite; the orange one is nice, too, but I can’t really say I love it. I applied one thick coat of top coat, too, because the sandpaper feel is actually annoying.

foto 1Do you remember the holo project I did in March 2013? I had the chance to add another gem to my Layla Hologram Effect collection, a silver shade with a stunning holo effect. Mercury Twilight is what I’ve always thought a silver holo varnish should be. Unfortunately, its longevity is poor but I honestly don’t care. I applied three coats over a coat of Nfu Oh Aqua Base; the multicolour effect built up coat after coat.

foto 3 (1)Isn’t it amazing? I remember I couldn’t help but staring at my nails all the time, trying to grasp yet another rainbow shade. You can see purple, pink, blue, green and gold reflects, which obviously pop under the light of a flash.

foto 1 (2)I did this manicure with great expectations, but the result was a bit disappointing. The idea of matching two similar shades – Max Factor Fantasy Fire and Layla CE52 The Butterfly Effect was good, but the outcome not so much. For some reason, it seems I can’t make Fantasy Fire work properly: last October I applied it on Chanel Rouge Noir but the result didn’t convince me. I guess I’ll give it another try and apply it on a black base; if it doesn’t work, I’ll toss it in the swap basket. As for the Layla shade, I think it’s beautiful alone, so I won’t use it as a topper in the future.

foto 2See? The two colours are really similar – purple with copper glitters/flakies. Maybe too similar to be worn together.

foto 1 (1)In May I was finally able to put my hands on a nail polish I had been lemming for a very long time – Deborah Lippmann Boom Boom Pow. The 24K-gold glitter polish was sitting in my wish-list when I saw it on Linda Rodin’s bathroom shelf. That was the spark I needed to set my wish on fire! I found Boom Boom Pow for sale at BeautyBay and immediately bought it. I still have to experiment with it; I’ve used it only once: I applied one coat of it over two coats of Mavala Cyclades Blue. I think the effect of gold on sky blue is sublime.

foto 1Starry Back is the best of the three Kiko Sugar Mat shades I own. The black base shines with silver glitters; the effect is subtle, yet impressive. I applied two coats of it and a thick coat of top coat. One of the pros of this colour is that the glittering effect is not toned down by the top coat.

foto (1)See how beautiful it is under the light of the flash! It looks more grey than black under a simple neon light, though.

ccbd10cac0af11e2ba2422000a1f9376_7In May I also tried a new (for me) brand – Sinful Colors. I found it for sale at a local perfume shop and I bought a bright pink shade – Forget Now – to test it. The general impression is good because the colour is peculiar and the longevity is not bad… but there’s something about it which doesn’t convince me. Probably it’s the consistency – a bit gluey – or maybe it’s the fact I’ve got a similar shade in my stash. The colour itself is nice – hot pink with matching speckles which give it a stained glass effect – but I don’t think I’ll use it often.

foto 2Last but not least, another Layla nail polish. This is CE54 Green Galaxy, an original take on the emerald green theme. When I first applied it (the manicure above had three coats and a top coat), The Wizard of Oz and the Emerald City came to my mind. It’s a stunning emerald green jelly base with green glitters in different sizes in it; it applies smoothly, even if the consistency is quite watery and runny. I think it’s now among my favourite green polishes ever, but I have only one complaint: the big glitters are not easy to apply evenly. You need to move them on the nail with the brush, which is quite tricky. Besides this, it’s so so beautiful to look at.

What do you think of my May manicures? Share your thoughts in the comments, and don’t forget to tell me what your spring/summer nail trends are. xoxo ♥

2 comments

Leave a Reply

