70th Golden Globe Awards

The time is now! The award season has officially started and I couldn’t be more excited for the upcoming events. The ceremony which kicked it off has been the 70th Golden Globe Awards, which took place yesterday at the Beverly Hilton Hotel in Beverly Hills. My impression is that is was a boring red carpet, lacking wow moments but full of predictable outfits. Fortunately I was able to find 10 dresses which I liked a lot. Let’s see if you agree with me.

The Outsider

lucyliuI’ve never been a fan of Lucy Liu on the red carpet, but this time she outdid herself by wearing a very unusual dress by Carolina Herrera from the pre-fall 2013 collection – a proper ballgown embellished by a romantic rose print. I like how the dress was styled: she sported a side fishtail braid and wore only a pair of diamond earrings. Less and less celebrities are playing the romantic card nowadays, so I’m glad Lucy wasn’t afraid of wearing such a statement (and utterly girly) dress.

Ladies in Dark Red/Aubergine

naomiwattsMany celebrities walked the red carpet wearing dark red or aubergine-hued dresses. One of them was Naomi Watts, who looked ravishing wearing a Zac Posen long-sleeved dress from the pre-fall 2013 collection. The mermaid line, the pleated satin details on the bodice and the open back turn it into a showstopper.

naomiwatts2She styled her blonde hair in a soft wavy updo and completed her look with custom Lorraine Schwartz lavender jade and ruby pendant earrings and a box clutch by Salvatore Ferragamo.

taylorswiftTaylor Swift opted for a dramatic aubergine satin number by Donna Karan Atelier. This is the case of a dress whose back looks more exciting than the front: I love the mermaid line with short train, but the open back and those contrasting bands are sublime. I don’t know why she kept things simple in the make-up department: I would have opted for a glam look (and a bold lipstick), but she opted for a neutral look. Her hair was styled in a side bun, a chic choice. She also wore Lorraine Schwartz amethyst earrings.

lenadunhamLena Dunham was one of the protagonists of the evening: her show Girls won the award for best series (musical or comedy) and she won the award for best actress in a musical or comedy. She walked the red carpet looking gorgeous in aubergine: she wore a custom-made Zac Posen dress (I think it was inspired to this dress from the spring 2013 collection), pairing it to smokey eyes and an array of diamond rings.

Ladies in Red

jenniferlawrenceMy favourite red dresses seen at this event were both creations by Christian Dior. Jennifer Lawrence wore a red number designed by Raf Simons from the Haute Couture fall 2012 collection. The warm colour looked beautiful on her and the combination of full skirt and strapless bodice enhanced her body. I like the choice of adding a gold metal dress and I also like the Chopard jewellery she wore to complete it. The only thing that left me a bit baffled is the cone shape of the bra on the corseted bodice: it reminds me of the custom-made Valentino Haute Couture red dress worn by Livia Giuggioli at the 84th Academy Awards. It’s not bad but it’s not flattering either. The actress won the award as best actress in a musical or comedy for the role of Tiffany in Silver Linings Playbook by David O. Russell.

marioncotillardMarion Cotillard was among the nominees for best actress in a drama for the role of Stéphanie in De rouille et d’os by Jacques Audiard. She didn’t win (the award went to Jessica Chastain for her role in Zero Dark Thirty by Kathryn Bigelow) but she surely was among the best dressed. Besides the original asymmetrical hem of her Christian Dior Haute Couture velvet dress, what was really stunning was the colour, a bright shade of orange red which was awesome on her. She completed the look with a gold metal belt, metallic orange point-toe pumps and a gold bangle with rubies. Her hair was sleek and center-parted and her make-up was barely there.

Ladies in Black and/or White

juliannemooreJulianne Moore is one of my favourite red carpet stars: I’ve often included her in my best-dressed lists and this time is one of them. She was nominated as best actress in a mini-series or motion picture made for television for the role of Sarah Palin in Game Change by Jay Roach, an award that she won! Game Change also won the award as best motion picture made for tv and Ed Harris, who played the role of John McCain, won the award for best supporting actor in a mini-series or motion picture made for tv. She walked the red carpet wearing a black Tom Ford custom-made dress with white inserts, a woven clutch and stunning Bulgari jewellery (including a Serpenti diamond and gold bracelet and diamond pendant earrings). Her French twist updo was divine and so was the sexy detail of the open back.

sarahpaulsonSarah Paulson is my latest girl crush (and after the end of American Horror Story: Asylum you’ll learn why), so I decided to include her in my best-dressed list. I don’t think she walked the red carpet, so I took pictures from the HBO after party. She looked lovely in black, wearing a Reem Acra beaded dress with feathered skirt (it’s from the fall 2012 collection) and a stunning set of diamond jewellery, including two band bracelets and chandelier earrings. She styled her hair in a center-parted chignon and sported a sultry make-up with smokey eyes and rosy cheeks.

kristenwiigMinimalism at its best: this is the best way to describe Kristen Wiig’s outfit. She looked beautiful in a Michael Kors halter dress from the spring 2013 collection: the simple black wool crepe number has a plunging neckline and a cut-out detail on the stomach. Kristen styled her lovely hair in a soft waves and completed the dress with a Cartier Love gold bangle and a Roger Vivier Boite de Nuit clutch.

amandaseyfriedThis year a few celebrities wore white dresses, a wise decision because the wedding dress effect is always just around the corner. The best dressed in white was surely Amanda Seyfried, who wore a gorgeous Givenchy Haute Couture custom-made lace dress. She kept the heavenly beauty of her outfit simple by accessorizing it with a gold bar brooch and Fred Leighton drop earrings. Neutral make-up and wavy center-parted hairstyle completed her look.

Now comes *the* question: who is your best-dressed celebrity? If I had toned abs, I would wear the Michael Kors dress worn by Kristen Wiig, but since I don’t, I would go big with Lucy Liu’s ballgown. What about you? Has your favourite celebrity been included in my list or not? Share your thoughts in the comments and cast your vote in the poll!

Source.

8 comments

  1. You picked some of my favourites: Taylor Swift was flawless in that dress, Jennifer Lawrence is amazing too (I’m still not convinced by the shade, or is it the make up?). Also I like a lot Julianne Moore dress and Kristen Wiig choice.
    I loved Kate Hudson dress http://cdn04.cdn.justjared.com/wp-content/uploads/2013/01/hudson-globes/kate-hudson-golden-globes-2013-red-carpet-05.jpg and her choice it’s probably my favourite, with Taylor Swift one.

    1. Yes, I think her make-up washed her out a bit. I wish she wore a lipstick in a bright colour; it would have looked lovely on her.

      Uhm, I quite like Kate Hudson’s dress but there’s something in it which doesn’t convince me much. Maybe it’s the neck/shoulder area, a bit too “busy”/over-decorated for my liking.

  2. I agree with you: this red carpet was very boring. I love Christian Dior Haute Couture ball gown wore by Jennyfer Lawrence but it isn’t an innovative piece. Less glamour, less sparkle more austerity in this edition.

  3. hiiii love this post , i voted for jen lawrance cuz the dress made me feel like im actually in a dior fashion show to me its pure elegance, i totally agree with what u said about few celebrities these days wearing the dreamy romantic style . Lucy kile it

    thanks a lot

  4. You didn’t mention Anne Hathaway white Chanel, she was great in it! Maybe not really something new, but still worth mention from my pov. Julianne Moore had my vote in your selection 🙂

    1. The dress was amazing but looked a bit bland on her: this is the reason why I didn’t include her in my list.

      Thanks for voting 🙂

Leave a Reply

