Diary of a Nail Polish Addict: November 2012

November was another super-busy month for me. I spent many afternoons at school attending meetings, so I didn’t have much time to devote to the rest of my life, manicures included. I took advantage of some free time during week-ends to experiment with new colour combinations and to try new shades I’ve recently bought. The month started with a bang, thanks to a sparkling bicolour mani.

I love this combo so much! Blue and red are definitely among my favourite colours, so I decided to use them both. I painted the nails of my left hand in blue and those of the right hand in red. Besides the difference in colour, you can also see a difference in texture: as a matter of fact, I did a ring finger manicure by painting the ring finger of both hands with glitter nail polishes.

The holo glitters of the top coat I used are mesmerizing, aren’t they? It was quite hard to capture their multicolour quality; the pictures above are a bit blurry, but at least you can see the gold and silver reflects.

This was quite a “busy” manicure: I used four nail polishes and a top coat! Most of the nails were painted with Essie Aruba Blue and Essence Fateful Desire respectively; I painted the ring finger of the left hand with Deborah Lippmann Across the Universe and the ring finger of the right one with Deborah Lippmann Ruby Red Slippers. I used Essence Hello Holo as top coat, which I’m hopelessly in love with.

The second manicure of the month is a clear sign of the fact that I’m a weak nail polish addict, who can’t resist temptations. After seeing Malice (the nail polish Chanel has released as part of the Holiday 2012 collection) all over Tumblr, I decided to buy it, even if I had promised myself not to buy Chanel nail polishes. They often have nice colours but I think no one can deny their quality is far from being good – they chip in no time on me. Despite this and despite the whopping price tag, I grabbed a bottle of this lovely wine red nail polish. The colour is amazing – not unique, but so rich and luxurious – but the quality is the same old crap.

The third manicure I did last month was an experiment of glitter gradient manicure. I used OPI Steady as She Rose (from Pirates of the Caribbean collection, released in 2011) and Color Club Gingerbread (from the Holiday 2011 collection). Gingerbread is an amazing gold shade with gold (regular and holo) glitters, while the OPI shade is a nice cool-toned pink.

Essie Wicked has quickly become a favourite of mine. I own only two nail polishes by Essie and their longevity has never impressed me, but Wicked is a completely different story. Along with Illamasqua Ruthless it’s probably the varnish with the best staying power. I wore it for 5 days, then I took it off because I wanted to change colour, not because of the chips. Impressive indeed! The colour is a deep black cherry, darker and incredibly better than Chanel Rouge Noir.

Last but not least, let’s say hi to my new favourite white nail polish – OPI My Boyfriend Scales Walls, from the Spiderman collection launched last May. I didn’t pay attention to the collection when it came out, but I recently saw some pics of this colour and I realized it had to be mine! I’m a sucker for white-out-effect nail polishes: I love OPI Alpine Snow and Illamasqua Load (that is more butter white than optical white, but still), but this one is so different and peculiar. It’s a pure white with a touch of grey which emphasizes its cool tone. I wore it alone, but I want to try it topped with something sparkling to give it a frosty effect (China Glaze Fairy Dust or Essence Hello Holo).

Now that the holiday season is just around the corner, my experiments with festive combos are in full swing… but I’ll show you the results at the end of December! xoxo

2 comments

    1. They’re awesome. I have other Lippmann shades (Don’t Tell Mama and Superstar) but they’re not as impressive as these.

Leave a Reply

