Christina Aguilera’s Style: The Voice (Season 2) – Semifinals, Live Eliminations

Can you believe the second edition of The Voice is coming to an end? Next week the finals will take place, which is exciting but sad at the same time. I must admit I didn’t pay much attention to it last year (my only focus was Christina’s style), but this year I’ve watched most of the live performances, some of which really impressed me. Some of my favourite artists have been eliminated (even the adorable and super-talented Katrina and Lindsey Pavao), but there’s still Juliet Simms and I’m totally rooting for her.

As you know, I live in Italy and I watch The Voice the day after it airs. I woke up this morning and I read a comment on my last post which filled me with anticipation: my friend Alessia, who has just moved to Michigan, told me Christina looked like a character from The NeverEnding Story, a lovely fantasy movie by Michael Ende. You may like Christina or not, but one must give her credit for always experimenting with her image and pushing her own boundaries.

Adorable! Simone Harouche wrote that this look is “Mad Max gone glam”, thus referring to another beautiful movie from the 80s, Mad Max Beyond the Thunderdome by George Miller and George Ogilvie, featuring Tina Turner in the unforgettable role of Aunty Entity. I think there’s an element of wild glamour in this outfit, along with a magic/exotic element – the fringed necklace worn as headpiece, so unusual for her. I can totally see Simone’s personal (bohemian) style here, mixed with trademarks of Christina’s style.

Let’s start with her Balmain biker jacket, a black suede piece with belted waist and gold embellished epaulets. I was a fan of this French brand at the time of the first collections by Christophe Decarnin, but since his departure nothing really original has been done. This jacket is an example: designed by the current designer, Olivier Rousteing, it clearly echoes the rock chick vibe of Decarnin’s collections.

She wore the jacket with a bodycon jersey dress by American Apparel and Christian Louboutin Miss Clichy leopard pumps, the same she wore when she got her star on the Hollywood Walk of Fame in 2010.

Now let’s focus on her necklace/headpiece: it’s a creation by Martin Bernstein: besides being a jewellery designer and a painter, he also creates installations, all characterized by the recurring theme of fringes. I couldn’t find a picture of the necklace seen of Christina (it’s unclear if it’s made of black pearls or stones), but the one above is pretty similar – the pearls are beautifully “wrapped” in thin gold chains.

She also wore a Loree Rodkin gold knuckle ring and a pair of gold and diamond earrings by the American designer, the same she wore at the Ellen DeGeneres Show in February 2012.

As usual, I loved her make-up (that heavy smokey eye look is gorgeous on her, because it highlights her blue eyes). This time I also loved her wavy hairstyle: I think it was perfect because it was not over-the-top and beautifully enhanced the fringed headpiece.

Now the finals are quickly approaching, I can’t wait to see what Christina’s glam squad has in store for us. Are you excited as I am? What are your opinions on this episode’s outfit?

Source and source.

4 comments

  1. Con il cambio makeup la maschera é stata tolta,finalmente…,rimango in attesa di cambio hair style .L’outfit funziona,accessori perfetti.
    A.
    Ho appena visto GG,mi sono divertita,mi piacciono gli intrighi e i colpi di scena improbabili.

    1. Pure io sono in trepidante attesa. Voci dicono che debutterà il nuovo look la prossima settimana. Staremo a vedere.

      Per quanto riguarda Gossip Girl, sventolo bandiera bianca. Ma cosa è questa novità di Bart Bass ancora vivo? Ce l’hanno smenata tutti questi anni con il padre (e marito) morto e adesso viene fuori che è vivo e vegeto? Lily quindi è una bigama! Mahhhh, sono abbastanza delusa.

  2. Oramai da molte puntate navighiamo nel mondo dell’improbabile,io cerco di cogliere il lato …comico.
    Bart si é finto morto,lasciando ( in una delle puntate più belle) un figlio disperato,e un’eredita’ “billionaria” alla moglie ed al suo amante,chissà per quale terribile motivo e poi si fa scoprire pur di sollazzarsi in un bordello?.Attendo sviluppi ma intanto mi viene da ridere.:)

Leave a Reply

