(Never) Was a Cornflake Girl

I hope Tori Amos (and her fans) will forgive me for borrowing a verse from one of her most beautiful songs for such a trivial post, but that song was the first thing that came to my mind when I decided to write something about my experience with flake nail polishes. I think it’s always intriguing and exciting when a new nail polish finish arrives on the market: after magnetic varnishes and crackle-effect top coats, another novelty comes from flakies, nail polishes which contain glitters in flake shape. The effect is different from “traditional” glitter nail polishes: most of them contain a huge amount of glitter in a clear/sheer base, while flakies often have a more opaque base and glitters are not fine, but kind of chunky, just like flakes. The 3D effect of these varnishes is spectacular: flakes reflect light and change their colour accordingly.

After skipping magnetic and crackle polishes, I decided to give flakies a try: I’m a die-hard fan of glitter nail polishes, after all!

The first flake nail polishes I bought is an Italian product, The Butterfly Effect (code CE52), a gorgeous purple shade by Layla. Back in the 90s, I bought a few Layla nail polishes: their quality was not the best, but this was the only brand that made glitter nail polishes. I haven’t bought Layla polishes for many years, but this one, created in collaboration with the Italian nail art site Trendy Nail, was so tempting!

Flake nail polishes are impressive for their unique effects – in this case, flakes turn gold, red and orange, according to the light – but it’s so hard to catch them in a picture. I took the picture above with no flash (neon light), and you can see the beautiful flakes on the middle finger. I think this is where the colour looks really close to the colour in real life; the first picture of the post was taken in direct sunlight, but I changed it a bit on Instagram. In this case, I used base coat, two coats of nail polish and top coat. I’d like to wear it on a dark base (violet or black) but I think it looks good alone, too.

Another brand which has recently focused on the same effect is Deborah Milano. I haven’t bought anything by this brand since the 90s and I must admit their range of products is not tempting at all (most of their nail polishes still contain formaldehyde resin). I decided to buy 3D Tech top coat (code 102) because it’s PF-free and because it’s a flake top coat. The brand produced an orange version, too, but I don’t think I’ll buy it.

I love the amazing amount of blue and green flakes in the bottle. The base is obviously clear, so it can be applied on other nail polishes, better if dark.

I’ve tried it only once: I applied a base coat, two coats of Chanel Black Satin, two coats of 3D Tech and no top coat. Yes, there’s no need for top coat, because the surface of the nail is smooth, not rough as it often happens with glitter nail polishes. Two coats and the product works its magic by turning a simple black base in a kaleidoscope of blue and green reflections. In the picture above (one with flash, one without flash) you can actually see the emerald green flakes only.

I took these pictures in the natural daylight (it was a rainy day): here you can finally see the amazing royal blue flakes and the gradient shades from emerald green to royal blue. Beware: this top coat is highly addictive and, once applied, you cannot help but staring at your nails, just to see the different effects of the multicolour shades. Beautiful, isn’t it?

I don’t think I’ll buy other nail polishes or top coats with the same effect, because what I have is more than enough to satisfy my flake hunger. In any case, I’m glad to have these two in my stash.

What do you think of flake nail polishes? Do you have any?

Leave a Reply

