Christina Aguilera’s Style: The Voice (Season 2) – Quarterfinals, Live Eliminations (Week 1)

Yesterday another episode of The Voice – the live eliminations – aired. I was looking forward to it because I wanted to see Christina Aguilera’s outfit (after the major letdown of Monday) and to learn her decision. While Chris Mann got the highest number of votes, Christina had to choose between Ashley De La Rosa and Lindsey Pavao; I’m glad she picked Lindsey because I think she’s got such a unique voice. Well, after hearing her sing Heart-Shaped Box some weeks ago, I immediately became a fan of hers.

Thank God she wore a fitted dress, a wise choise after the tunic disaster. I think she looked lovely with this summery dress. The only flaw is, again, her hair: I prefer this messy hairstyle to straight hair, but it’s still not the best. Ana, a reader of this blog, told me Christina’s hairstylist, Mark Townsend, didn’t work on her on Monday so maybe he didn’t work on her yesterday either. In any case, I think that’s the point she has to focus on, because there’s so much to improve.

Her lovely striped dress was an Alexander Wang creation – an engineered tank dress in Purple Haze/Hibiscus. It’s a bit too low-cut for my liking, but Christina looked sensational, sexy but not trashy. She paired it to Christian Louboutin Daffodil silver pumps.

The jewellery department included these Dannijo silver earrings, embellished by drop-cut black crystals.

She also wore an Etro triangular brass and resin cuff. It doesn’t perfectly match the earrings, but it’s nice anyway.

No XTINA knuckle duster this time, but she wore another ring by Stephen Webster.

I liked the dress on her, but what I really loved was her make-up. Jake Bailey, her make-up artist, focused on eyes again, while leaving the lips shiny but neutral. This graphic eye look, done with lots of eye-liner, reminds me the amazing make-up she sported at the 2008 MTV Music Awards, but it’s even better, more sophisticated.

What do you think of her outfit? Nice or could it be better?

Source and source.

8 comments

  1. I totally agree with you that Jake Bailey is doing great job with Christina’s make-up. She has such beautiful eyes! Outfit is yet again better than the day after though I found it quite too casual. These are quarterfinals after all.

    1. Yes, I think the outfit is casual but just right for this phase of the competition. I love how this dress looks on her. At this point, I think she should really stick to body-con (not Hervé Leger, please) or structured dresses that can emphasize her curves without making her look trashy.

  2. Christina looked grat last night I loved it! however I have to agree with you that the hair is not the best however not the worst. Her hair stylist apparently is back on full force next week. By the way he even was interviewed by us weekly about christina new look and a very near future hair style change LOL I was like this \o/ when I read it, she so needs a drastic change.

    1. OMG, really? Did he really talk about a future hair style change??? That would awesome! I’m so tired of her platinum blonde hair. In the past she experimented with hair colours and always look good, so fingers crossed!

Leave a Reply

