Christina Aguilera’s Style: At the Tonight Show with Jay Leno, March 23, 2012

I was really excited when I learnt that Christina Aguilera would attend the Tonight Show with Jay Leno on March 23, 2012. As you know, I live in Italy, not in the US, so I couldn’t watch her interview live. This morning I woke up at 6, as I always do on Saturdays, and when I saw some pics of the show, my heart rejoiced. I’ve been writing about her style since I started this blog and you know all the issues and discussions about Christina’s weight gain have left me cold. She’s more than appearance, even if she works in a business where appearance is almost everything, and I don’t think she should be judged by the way she looks like, since her voice is sensational, but still.

When I saw the pics from the show, I couldn’t help but noticing her body has changed since the last time she made a public appearance: thank God she’s not stick-thin, she’s still shapely and curvy, but she’s lost some weight and I’m glad she did, so people will finally stop focusing on her size. In this picture taken backstage with the show host she looked adorable. I immediately identified her dress as a creation by Alexander McQueen, which beautifully emphasized her curves. I’m sure most of you won’t agree with me, but don’t you think she’s a great non-official McQueen testimonial? She’s worn dresses and accessories by the British brand for a long time, even when Lee McQueen was still alive; I like this brand loyalty and I think some of these dresses are perfect for her, very feminine yet not girly.

The dress she wore is a black and flesh pink spine lace jacquard pencil dress. It’s extremely simple in shape, but the fabric it’s made of and the lace appliqués make it very peculiar.

The dress was gorgeous on her, but her shoes were not! She wore Christian Louboutin Daffodil pumps again. If I ever had the chance to talk to her, I would ask her what it takes to walk in heels and platforms so high. I usually love Louboutin shoes, even the most daring styles, but this one is hideous, stat. The proportions are all wrong, in my opinion: exaggerated, hoof-like platform and sky-high heels. Many celebrities love this style, but it’s a fascination I don’t get at all.

She completed her outfit with some diamond jewellery: her trusty Batmoth ring by Stephen Webster, her Maltese cross ring by Loree Rodkin and another diamond ring I couldn’t identify. I haven’t found high-resolution pics, so it’s impossible for me to get a better view of her earrings. Yes, she was wearing pendant earrings with rectangular crystals. From what I could see, they could be creations by Lanvin or Erickson Beamon.

As for her make-up, she kept things neutral but I would have opted for her trademark red lipstick. Nude lips paired to the nude dress washed her out a bit. In any case, any change in her look/style is more than welcome. When it comes to her hair, I will repeat until exhaustion strikes that she REALLY needs to do something with it. This doesn’t necessarily mean a change in colour, but surely a change in style/cut. Do you agree with me?

Source, source and source.

14 comments

  1. I like Christina since her metamorphosis as a pin up, and I’m very happy to see her good and healthy — curves suit her without any doubt. I love the dress, and as you I’m not fond of the pumps, the platforms are definitely too high and the proprtions are awkard.
    About the hair I can’t help but, again, agree with you. She definitely should do something, maybe change in style or at least some treatment, since it looks dull, while I would maintain the colour that, in my opinion, is somewhat of a Christina’s trademark.

    1. I loved Christina as a brunette, she looked so sexy and beautiful, but I don’t think this is the right time for another drastic change in colour. What her hair needs (as you said) is a change in style, I mean, ANYTHING but not that wavy long locks again. They look lifeless 😦

  2. I love the dress, and she looks great in it. I would love to see her hair a’ la Fighter, I think it would totally suit both the dress and her trademark red lips!
    I agree with you that the shoes aren’t great, but I find it slightly reassuring to see their worn-out soles- finally someone in the showbiz who hasn’t got problems to wear their shoes more than once!

    1. Christina has an impressive collection of Louboutin shoes and she wears the same shoes many times. The same can be said for her jewellery: most of the pieces she wears are part of her collection, so she often wears the same ones.

      Oh, I agree, she would be awesome as a brunette with straight hair and bangs. I miss that hairstyle!

  3. I wish someone would notice how different her butt looks – did she get implants? She’s never had that kind of booty, and with weight loss it would be even smaller. It looked huge and Kim-Kardashian-like last night on The Voice.

    1. I must be honest: I haven’t noticed her larger butt. Do you really think she got implants? It sounds kind of weird to me.

    2. Finally someone else that notices the same thing she never had even in her genie days that big and round of a butt but celebs are used to buying their looks once they get famous.

      1. I don’t know if she actually had butt implants, but it’s clear she can’t have the body she had when she started her career. Many years have passed, she had a baby, so I think it’s absolutely normal that her body has changed.

    3. Alot of celebs have had butt grafting,butt implants,fat transfers anything they want because they have the money to have any procedure done to make themselves look perfect sometimes it backfires and they end up looking deformed.

      1. I know, but this is not the case of Christina, I think. Maybe she had butt implants, maybe not, but I don’t think she wants to look perfect. If she wanted to, she would have conformed to the thin-stick body type that most celebrities have.

Leave a Reply

