Christina Aguilera’s Style: The Voice (Season 2) – Blind Auditions, Round 2

Whoa! Three posts about Christina Aguilera’s style in a row! Yesterday evening NBC aired the second round of blind auditions for The Voice and Christina appeared on stage with a new outfit. The performance of the judges was a tribute to Prince: they sang four songs from the 1980s by the American artist, which included 1999, Little Red Corvette, I Wanna Be Your Lover and Kiss. I loved Cee-Lo Green’s rendition of Little Red Corvette (and his ruby red sequin outfit) but I really hated Blake Shelton singing Kiss (I mean, Kiss with a country vibe? No way!).

Her rock chick outfit included a leather corset with a plunging neckline, a black miniskirt and silver-accented accessories – a pair of leather gloves, a leather beret and a chain belt. As for her shoes, I think their soles were red, so I guess she was wearing Christian Louboutin pumps. I quite like this outfit on her, but it’s kind of predictable. Now, I wouldn’t like her to embrace a super-eccentric look, but I really wish for something more from her. How many times we’ve seen this look on celebrities? She could have chosen something sexier but more refined for this performance, in tune with the unique mood of Prince’s music.

The most eccentric piece of her outfit was Servelan, a leather beret with stud mohawk designed by Piers Atkinson. This hat comes from the fall/winter 2010 collection (It Is Later Than You Think): it gives a nice touch to Christina’s rock ‘n roll look, but I wished she didn’t wear her hair loose; a chic updo would have been so much better, more refined. In this picture we can also take a look at her make-up. It seems like she’s experimenting more with colours – this time with pink/violet/purple shades. I don’t think this specific selection of colours works on her, but I’m glad she’s slightly stepping out of her comfort zone.

She emphasized her waist-line with a Barbara Bui leather belt, decorated by silver chains. You may remember she wore the same style of belt when she attended The Voice press junket in October 2011.

She completed her outfit with a pair of quirky black leather gloves by Tom Binns – the cuffs are embellished by fine silver chains and tiny safety pins.

I liked the fact that Christina was the backup singer for Cee-Lo in his rendition of Little Red Corvette. Their voices sounded so good together!

You know I’ll keep on writing about Christina’s style, but I must admit things are getting a bit frustrating. I don’t care for her fuller figure and I can even oversee her hair (which is in dire need of a change), but I’d like to see something new/unexpected/crazy from her. I respect Simone Harouche because I think she’s a great stylist, but for some reasons she’s unable to work her magic on Christina and ths is a pity.

What do you think of this outfit? Tacky or event-appropriate?

Source.

Leave a Reply

