A Good Tree Cannot Bring Forth Evil Fruit

Yesterday afternoon I was driving home from school and I was thinking of how sad and uncool is the life of teachers according to movies. Just think about that: teachers are often depicted as the enemies, people whose only mission is ruining your life. Even when they are not enemies, they are seen as sad and probably lonely people: their lives are meaningful only in relation to their job. As a (fixed-term) teacher, let me tell you that my job and the conditions in which I work are hard. It’s not true that we don’t have a life outside the school, but it’s true that sometimes our job defines ourselves because it’s a sort of mission, or at least it should be. I’d like to go in depth of this topic (teachers in movies), but in the meantime here is my Friday Guessing Game devoted to schools, blackboards and writing. I hope you’ll enjoy it!

After some weeks of written solutions, I’m back with a video solution. As usual, I didn’t speak about the Friday Guessing Game only, but you can also see my latest manicure. Those who decided to take part into this game were amazing and they all did their best to guess the identity of the screencaps. The winners are – again – Lorenzo and his friends, who guessed 8 (!) pictures right, but my kudos also go to Ale and Bea, too, because they guessed 7 pictures right. In any case, I’m happy when my games bring people together 🙂

15 comments

  1. So far, I can only guess one: the eight picture is from Never Been Kissed, with Drew Barrymore, I think!
    As for teachers in films, you’re right when you say that most of them as portrayed as enemies or just “losers”- luckily there are some exceptions as in Donnie Darko’s literature teacher (if I’m not mistaken it’s Drew B. again)
    personally I was lucky enough to find some truly inspirational teachers along my way that totally disprove some of the stereotypes on the category 🙂

    1. Sorry, but the 8th picture is taken from “10 Things I Hate About You”, another teen movie.

      Oh, you’re right! I don’t know why but Drew Barrymore’s role in “Donnie Darko” didn’t come to my mind when I wrote the post.

  2. I don’t recognize any picture 😦 but I don’t really agree with you. I always found teachers to be represented as adventurous geniuses/heroes in most movies I saw.. Even Indiana Jones is a teacher for a while. Sister Act, Whoopi Goldberg is the coolest music teacher ever… Michelle Pfeiffer in Dangerous Minds. I was a kid when I saw them but those guys were my heroes.. In books or series too: Dumbledore in Harry Potter (and all the other Hogwarts teachers too) and Zooey Deschanel in New Girl as a teacher is pretty fun…

  3. Questa volta ho più tempo da dedicarci e posso lasciarti qualche risposta in più, ecco il mio tentativo:

    1. Little Shop of Horrors (1986)
    2. The Night of the Hunter (1955)
    6. Shopgirl (2005)
    8. 10 Things I Hate About You (1999)
    9. Edward Scissorhands (1990)
    10. Secretary (2002)

  4. Oddìo, so di averli visti ma non riesco a far mente locale. L’unico che penso di riconoscere è il numero 6.

    “L’amore ha due facce” con Jeff Bridges e Barbra Streisand.

  5. 1.Grease 2
    2.la morte corre sul fiume
    3.pump up the volume
    4.rocky horror picture show
    5.
    6.shopgirl
    7.
    8.10 things I hate about you
    9.
    10.secretary

    ale e Bea
    xoxo

    1. 1. Ma brave! Pensavo di essere l’unica ad averlo visto (nonostante sia considerato pessimo, a me non dispiace)
      2. Certo
      3. Sì
      4. Sììì (the criminologist ;))
      6. Sì
      8. Sì
      10. Sì

      Brave, grrrls: ne avete indovinate 7 su 10!

  6. La mia squadra (facendomi un po’ paura) così sentenzia:

    2. The Night of the Hunter (1955)
    3. Pump Up the Volume (1990)
    5. The Sixth Sense (1999)
    6. Shopgirl (2005)
    7. Annie Hall (1977)
    8. 10 Things I Hate About You (1999)
    9. Edward Scissorhands (1990)
    10. Secretary (2002)

    1. Anche a me una squadra del genere farebbe un po’ di paura 😉 Siete delle macchine da guerra davanti ai FGG!

      2. Sì
      3. Sì
      5. Sì
      6. Sì
      7. Bravissimi!
      8. Sì
      9. Sì
      10. Sì

      Sulla 1 e la 4 vi mangerete le mani…

Leave a Reply

