Christina Aguilera’s Style: The Voice Panel for the 2012 TCA Winter Tour, January 6, 2012

My Christmas holidays are sadly coming to an end, but I’m kind of excited because one of my favourite moments of the year is starting: the awards season is on its way, Gossip Girl is starting in two weeks and the second season of The Voice is coming, as well. Holidays have finished for Christina Aguilera, too: yesterday she attended The Voice panel for the 2012 Winter TCA Tour in Pasadena.

Now, let me tell you something about her outfit. I love this silk chiffon dress, it looks lovely on her and I’m praying she’s finally embracing the right style for her. I’ve always approved of her most daring outfits and I don’t give a damn about all the criticism she’s got about her weight, but this time I can’t pretend I haven’t seen what’s going on here. I rarely wear a bra because I feel more comfortable like this, but I’m a size 32 and I don’t need much support. This is clearly not the case of Christina, so, honey, what about wearing a good bra from now on? I repeat I’m the first to embrace a very natural approach to my body, but a dress like this calls for some support and nobody can say it’s not true. Sure she’s free to do whatever she wants with her image: I think she’s an incredible role model for women, because accepting yourself is fundamental, but a bra has never killed anybody, right?

Her leopard-print ruffled long dress is by Thomas Wylde. This Supernatural dress is lovely, very much in Simone Harouche’s style. In my opinion, Christina is still striving to find her own voice when it comes to style, but I would literally die if she embraced the relaxed bohemian style Simone is famous for, it would be a dream come true. She paired the dress with Christian Louboutin Lady Peep black pumps.

Awww, sexy! Christina struck a pose for photographers, revealing the back of her dress, supported by spaghetti straps only. The bare back is probably the reason why she opted to go braless, but she could have used other options to replace a bra. Besides this, the dress doesn’t help either: it lacks support, and you can see it in the pictures where she’s sitting. Even if I like the dress, something different could have been a better choice.

The jewellery department included Loree Rodkin pieces we’ve already seen on her. I’m glad she’s become loyal to this brand, because the rock vibe of Rodkin’s creation is perfectly in tune with Christina. She wore two diamond necklaces, pendant earrings, an array of bracelets and two rings we know well – the Ghost ring and the Maltese Cross ring on her pinkie.

Christina, you’re gorgeous and you have a beautiful smile, but please, next time don’t be afraid of bras: I can assure you they’re a woman’s good friends.

At the conference, besides talking about the upcoming season of the popular tv programme in which she’s a vocal coach, she spoke about the “massive scrutiny” she’s been receiving in the last months. I think everyone should read her words, who speak about self-confidence and self-acceptance. “I’ve been in this for a long time. I came out on the scene when I was 17 years old. ‘You can never be too much of anything. You can never be too prefect, too thin, too curvy, too voluptuous,’ this, that. I’ve been on all sides of the spectrum.. [Every] female in this business at one time or another has had criticism… and I’m always a risk taker too,” she said. “I’m very confident in my body. I think my video works over the years have spoken to that… I’ve been no stranger to being very comfortable in my own skin,” she added. Haters will keep on hating her, but nobody should feel free to judge such a straight-forward, honest and brilliant artist.

What do you think of her outfit? Are you looking forward to watching the second season of The Voice? And moreover, what is your opinion about all the criticism she’s receiving?

Source, source, source and source.

5 comments

  1. I have no qualms at all about her weight. She looks happy and that is the best beauty treatment. I agree a hundred times about your bra suggestion. It would make her look better. Not wearing proper support makes her breasts look dumpy. I think she and Gwen Stefani need to review what makes them look good, what it is that dates their looks and make some changes. They seem to have very similar styles and while they were very hot in the 1990’s, well, time to evolve dearies.

    1. You’re so right! But I think Gwen Stefani’s style has always been rather consistent, I mean she’s always sported platinum blonde hair and red lipstick, but it’s true she could give it a twist. Christina’s case is different: she’s gone through many different style phases, but now she needs to find one that mirrors her mood. I loved her when she dyed her hair black and I wish for another dramatic change.

Leave a Reply

