Christina Aguilera’s Style: At the American Music Awards, November 20, 2011

I’ve never hidden my disappointment for the collaboration between Christina Aguilera and Maroon 5: Moves Like Jagger is an easy-listening song (not my cup of tea), but the singing part of Christina is kind of ridiculous, such a short feature in a bland pop song. But still. After all the negative reviews she got when Bionic came out, I think she really needed a simple pop act to bring her back on the scene. Things could have been better (a better song, for example), but in any case she has reached her goal, because Moves Like Jagger has become a popular track.

Christina and Maroon 5 brought their collaboration to the American Music Awards last night with a performance of their song.

Damn! Christina knows how to focus everyone’s attention on her! The first thing I did this morning was checking Twitter to read comments on her outfit. Obviously, most of these comments were negative, but you know what? This time I didn’t even take the time to read them all, because people are free to think what they want, and I am too. I think she looked sensational, an incredible example of self-confidence.

Her love for Herve Leger’s bandage dresses is not new. This time she opted for a white sequined number with a plunging neckline. Now, wearing a Herve Leger dress screams “look at me”, you can’t wear it if you don’t want people to focus on your body. Christina’s figure is curvy, so I think wearing such a dress, which showed all her curves (some might call them “imperfections” but I won’t), is a declaration of independence and of self-confidence. I wouldn’t wear this dress even if I were stick thin, but I admire Christina for taking such a daring fashion step.

People think this is being fat. She should be thinner because she’s an entertainer, being thin is part of her job, and blah blah blah. I think this only means embracing your body and its changes. Despite what people say, I wish I was fat like her.

She completed her outfit with Christian Louboutin Very Riche peep-toe pumps, all sparkling and shining with strass.

Could she have worn something more flattering? Of course, but she didn’t, and I totally respect and admire her decision. Besides the dress, here we have two major improvements – hair and make-up. This gorgeous curly hairstyle reminds me of one of the outfits she sported in Not Myself Tonight video: she looked so beautiful! I’m glad she didn’t sport her trademark long wavy hairstyle, because she would have toned the whole look down. The make-up was amazing, as well. Welcome nude lips and smokey eyes, which make her look more natural but smoldering all the way. A last note on her jewellery, which included diamond rings and earrings by Neil Lane, plus her trusty Maltese cross ring by Loree Rodkin.

If you missed the performance, here it is. As I said at the beginning of the post, the song is disappointing, her singing part ridiculously short, but I quite liked her performance.

What are your opinions about performance and outfit? Do you agree with me or do you think she was just trashy?

Source, source and source.

11 comments

  1. You know what? The more I look at her, the more I like her. Is she fat?? All I can see is that she looks beautiful and charming. And you’re right, she seems to be self-confident, maybe now more than ever.

  2. A prescindere che uno sia magro o grasso io penso che ognuno dovrebbe indossare qualcosa che, oltre a farlo sentire bene, sia adatto al suo fisico.
    In questo caso Christina avrebbe potuto indossare un abito che esaltasse maggiormente le sue curve senza renderla ridicola.
    I capi di Herve Leger sono impietosi e non adatti secondo me a chi ha un fisico come il suo. Nello specifico l’abito è troppo scollato e almeno di una taglia più piccola, basta vedere come le fa difetto nella foto di profilo.
    Mi sembra azzardato dire che le stia bene, poi che lei si senta sicura di se stessa è un’altro paio di maniche.

    1. Certo che il vestito non era della sua taglia e le faceva difetto, questo mi pare evidente. Ciò non toglie che lei, nell’insieme, stesse da dio, secondo me. Sarà stato l’atteggiamento, la pettinatura o che ne so, fatto sta che l’ho trovata bellissima. Un amico dice che lei ha la “sindrome di Mariah Carey”, che si vede sempre magrissima anche se magra non è, e che si veste come se fosse magrissima. Forse le cose stanno davvero così. Ad ogni modo, mi affascina il modo in cui lei esprime se stessa attraverso i vestiti, non per seguire le mode (se noti, mette più o meno sempre le stesse cose) ma per dire “io mi sento così, prendere o lasciare”.

  3. In effetti le foto sono impietose e Hervé Leger non perdona, tuttavia guardando il video l’impressione è un’altra: è bella, è sexy, si muove bene e trovo che stavolta non sia affatto volgare. Riassumendo, voto positivo.
    Sicuramente un abito come quello è molto più adatto a lei che ad una magra con un portamento sbagliato o poco femminile.
    Però credo sia oggettivo che nella foto di profilo stia proprio male…
    Ma quanto le stanno bene i capelli ricci!
    Silvia

    1. Do you work out? Good for you, but please don’t try to convince me that Christina is fat. This twisted idea of what being fat means is disturbing and dangerous.

    1. I usually focus on her red carpet style/what she wears at public events. As for her everyday style, I like to analyze recurring themes (Herve Leger dresses, Balenciaga and Alexander McQueen bags, Lauren Moshi t-shirts, plaid shirts).

Leave a Reply

