From the Valley to the Upper East Side: Lily Van Der Woodsen’s Style On the Set

The fifth season of Gossip Girl is officially getting started on September 26th, but the cast has been working on the new episodes since last July. I’m usually not very interested in candids from the set, unless they’re candids of Kelly Rutherford. I must admit one of the reasons why I’ll watch the upcoming season is her character, because I really hope it finally gets more screen time and then because I love her style, of course.

Kelly was spotted out in New York on August 1st, 2011, sporting a gorgeous party outfit. Being busy with filming, we can’t see her complete screen outfit, because she paired her lace dress with simple black flats.

This dress is so much in style with the Park Avenue princess-style we’ve used to see on Lily. Parties are surely one of the recurring and most exciting events in the luxurious lives of Upper East Siders, so I cannot wait to learn more when the episode being filmed will be aired.


This is a CH by Carolina Herrera number, made of black lace and tulle. I love how the dress is made: it’s actually a shirtdress (see the buttons on the front), but the casually chic vibe of shirtdresses is completely missing here. Sheer and opaque effects alternate, thanks to the black lace layer and black lace bands applied on it. The dress is finished by a black tulle ruffle at the hem, satin details and adorable lace cap sleeves.

Besides her trademark messy updo, she sported a lovely pair of crystal flower earrings (I’m trying to identify them and the search has already driven me mad!) and a silver dome ring. In the first picture, she holds a bronze clutch, but I couldn’t get better shots of it. I guess we’ll have to wait to get a better view of it on screen.

What are your expectations about the upcoming season of Gossip Girl? I’m totally un-excited for the plot, because I think things have started going downhill since the second season, but this flaw is not enough to keep me from watching it. I’ve read Lily won’t be present in the first episodes, so stay tuned for (hopefully) new updates from the set.

Source.

8 comments

  1. I agree 100%. I have no expectations for the plot, it has all become toooo “unlikely” for my taste. The only reason I keep watching GG is Kelly Rutherford/Lily. Unfortunately I don’t think she’ll get nearly enough air time this season either…

    1. Hi Aurora!
      I agree with you. I’ve never watched Gossip Girl because it’s a true-to-life show, but at this point some plausibility is much needed. I watched the fourth season with no expectations and I quite enjoyed it (ok, it’s not as good as the first two seasons, but it’s not that bad either): I think I’ll do the same with the fifth one.

    1. I have no idea! Maybe you should contact Carolina Herrera customer service and ask them for information. I don’t know if this brand is sold in some online stores…

  2. Hi!
    Just wondering if you like Lemon Breeland’s style.
    I just see her as the younger version of Lily in the South.

    I can’t wait to see Lily back in television!!!

    1. Hi!
      Sorry, but I’ve never watched Hart of Dixie. I’ve seen some pictures of Jaime King as Lemon and she really looks adorable.

      Me too! I’m curious about what will happen next and obviously I’m looking forward to seeing more fabulous outfits from Lily.

      1. I haven’t watched a whole episode as well, but I really am loving how Lemon dresses.

        Yep, I’m with you on that! And by the way, I really enjoy your blog. My friends tell me that they see Lily in my mother and I’m glad to hear that! I view your posts for reference on gift ideas for my mother. I want to maintain her “Lily reputation” with my friends. Hahaha!

        More power to your blog!!!

Leave a Reply

