Christina Aguilera’s Style: Promoting “Secret Potion” in Munich, July 13, 2011

When NBC’s The Voice ended, I had no hope to see Christina Aguilera attending a social event any time soon, but – fortunately – I was wrong. She arrived in Germany to promote her latest fragrance, Secret Potion, which she presented at the Upside East Lounge on July 13th in Munich.

After a long affair with polka-dot dresses and some rare stints into more or less known fashion territories, she’s back to an old flame, the little black dress, and I’m glad this has happened because she always looks amazing whenever she wears one.

This time she opted for a simple dress, which is somehow reminiscent of the Wadely dress by The Row she wore at The Voice finals: here we can find the front zip again, which instantly gives a dress a sort of naughty touch. The dress – a creation by Givenchy – is made special by the lovely grommet motif on the front. Grommets are a trademark of many creations by the French maison; in this case, they give a vaguely rebellious vibe to a traditionally cut dress. Christina paired this dress to a pair of Christian Louboutin Daffodile pumps in metallic python. I know she has a passion for red-sole shoes, but I cannot approve of her choice: these pumps are one of the most hideous shoes I’ve ever seen. The disproportioned shape makes them look like horse hooves and I think they cannot suit anybody.

In the jewellery department, she’s still loyal to Loree Rodkin and wore pieces by the American designer she’s already worn many times – the famous Maltese-cross bondage ring, the lovely Ghost ring and diamond ball earrings.

I’m quite surprised of the hairstyle she chose for the occasion: I’ve never been a fan of very long, loose and wavy locks (her hair is scarily similar to a cross between Rapunzel and a mermaid), but this look is kind of attractive on her. I’m still convinced she should do something different with her hair, opting for a different hair colour included. As for her make-up, I cannot complain because it’s flawless as usual: her trademark red lipstick is back, and so is the mesmerizing rosy glow on her cheeks.

What do you think of this outfit? Is she improving or not? Share your thoughts in the comments.

Source and source.

3 comments

  1. It’s a pity she got a bit too fat… her dress is nice (Givenchy is great), but why is there this boob saying hi ?? she sometimes goes beyond the limit between pretty and vulgar…
    I love the hairstyle but I have always find this almost white color is too faded, not “warm” enough and not natural at all.
    And why on earth does she wear this RED FLASHY lipstick and those BIG eyebrows ! I think she would be wonderful with normal ones, with a NATURAL, slight pink or medium red lipstick and a bit less blush…

    1. I don’t think her weight is an issue. The problem is that sometimes she wears unflattering dresses. I’ve always supported self-expression and I still think it’s extremely important, but – as you said – the limit between pretty and vulgar should always be kept in mind.

      I actually like her with this outfit, minus the shoes and the hair. I totally agree with you when it comes to her hair colour, because she should really do something about it. I loved her short strawberry blonde phase, not to mention her brunette phase. I hope she’ll start experimenting with colours as she did in the early 2000s.

      I always like her with her trademark red lipstick, but you’re right when it comes to the shape of her eyebrows: it doesn’t suit her much.

Leave a Reply

