“The Most Common Way People Give Up Their Power is by Thinking They Don’t Have Any.”

As most of you might know, I haven’t watched tv since 2008 and I’m really happy with my choice. I sometimes watch cartoons with my daughter but that is enough. I don’t miss tv but I’m glad I watched it in 2007, when one of my favourite programmes was MTV Dancelife, which I enjoyed very much. The show, produced by Jennifer Lopez, followed the struggle of six dancers to achieve success and it impressed me so much because it featured extremely talented boys and girls, dealing with hard work and everyday problems. Among them, the one who stroke me most was Celestina Aladekoba, a gorgeous and super-talented dancer, an incredible example of what being an independent and strong woman in a tough business means. After that show, Celestina worked with many artists (50 Cent, Black Eyed Peas, Missy Elliot and Will Smith); she was the it girl of Prince’s Black Sweat music video and is among the dancers in Beyoncé’s latest video, Run the World (Girls).

While thinking of people I would like to feature in You’ve Got No Reason Not to Fight, she came to my mind. I left a message on her YouTube channel, explaining my project, but I had no idea I was about to get a reply from her.  I’m so honoured to include her in my “gallery” of empowering women and I’m sure you’ll enjoy her questionary as much as I did.

* What do you regard as the lowest depth of misery?

I’m not sure and I don’t want to know. I think there’s always seems to be something worse that what you think is miserable.

* What is your idea of earthly happiness?

In whatever state you may be in, if you have peace and joy I think happiness is right around the corner.

* Who are your favorite heroines of fiction?

I love super heroes and action figures (Superman, Storm, X-men, etc.), but one in particular is Captain Planet. I think he’s a unique character because he comes as a result of the unity of the “planeteers.”  He symbolizes the power of unity and many a time we as people forget its importance.

I also like Bambi and the character Much-Afraid from the book Hinds’ Feet on High Places by Hannah Hurnard.

* Who are your favorite heroines in real life?

My grandmother Naomi Nhiwatiwa. She was a freedom fighter.

* What is your most vivid memory of the 90s?

Busta Rhymes, Missy Elliot, the Spice Girls, and my big soda pop shoes! I remember teaching my friends how to do the “tootsie roll” (dance) while I was living in Nigeria.

* What does “feminism” mean to you?

The right for women to choose unhindered. Equality.

* Have you ever experienced sexism?

Yes, I remembered having a music teacher tell me I couldn’t play the drums because it was for boys and he gave me the clarinet. I played for a year and then tossed it.

* The quality you most admire in a person?

God fearing, integrity, ambition, and execution.

* What is your motto?‬

Love… I’m still working on showing more love everyday.

* Who would you have liked to be?

Me, just want to be the best me with super powers…lol!

* Could you put your identity into a few key words?

A child of God who hopes to fulfill her purpose of sharing love, joy, and great inspiration.

* How do you imagine your identity changing in ten years? Or twenty?

You know I’m not exactly sure but it better be a great one.

Wow, there are so many interesting ideas in her replies and they all show the importance of love, joy and happiness in her life. She’s surely a role model for me, even if we’re so much different, because I think she proves that faith and hard work can support your talent and lead you everywhere you wish to go.

Before closing the post, I’d like to thank Celestina for her kindness and her down-to-earth attitude. Featuring her in my project is another dream coming true.

Leave a Reply

