amfAR Cinema Against AIDS 2011 Benefit

When I first watched the pictures from the annual amfAR Gala in Cannes, I dismissed the event, because I didn’t like any (or very few) of the celebrities who treaded the red carpet of the Hotel du Cap. Today, thanks to a day off from school, I went through an extensive gallery of the guests and I realized there were some outfits I absolutely wanted to write about. It may be a coincidence, but most of these outfits are black or white; in some cases, they combine both colours, so this time I won’t divide my best-dressed list according to the colour of the outfit.

On the red carpet Kirsten Dunst can rarely do wrong, especially when she wears Chanel Haute Couture. Kirsten – who has won the Golden Palm as Best Actress for Melancholia by Lars Von Trier – wore a dress from the Spring 2011 collection. The pale peach shade of the chiffon really suited her complexion; I love the embroidered bodice and the diamond pattern on the bodice and on the sheer skirt. I’m glad she added a thin satin belt, a detail which makes the waist more defined. She accessorized the look with satin sandals and diamond jewellery, and styled her hair in a cute milk maid braid updo.

Karolina Kurkova wore another creation by Karl Lagerfeld, from the Chanel Haute Couture Fall 2010. The dress is decorated by many pearl strands and by a beaded embellishment on the high collar. I love the contrast between the sober front of the dress and the naked back. The model added Chanel pearl bracelets, a gold clutch and Jimmy Choo Ontario sandals to her look. She styled her hair in a sleek ponytail, the best hairstyle for such an important dress.

Naomi Campbell impressed me a lot, because she wore a dress from my favourite Givenchy Haute Couture collection, the Fall 2010. The model she wore is a slightly modified version of Mariposa,  made of blush-coloured silk organza and tulle embroidered with silk thread and fringes. She added a diamond bracelet and chandelier earrings, plus blush strappy sandals, to her look.

Carine Roitfeld attended the event wearing an all-white outfit, especially designed for her by Riccardo Tisci. It included a long jersey dress with a thin gold belt at the waist, a short jacket of ostrich feathers and a box clutch. Van Cleef & Arpels diamond jewellery and a stunning pair of Azzedine Alaïa lace-up shoes completed her effortlessly chic look.

The Italian-born jewellery designer Gaia Repossi was one of the best-dressed guests, in my opinion, because she pulled off a “dangerous” outfit from Louis Vuitton Fall 2011 collection with an enviable grace: it included a white shirt with puffy short sleeves and cut-out leather trousers, with a high waist and exaggerated hips. She also wore Louis Vuitton mary-jane pumps and a galuchat clutch. You can see she’s got a naturally chic style, because she wore a minimal make-up and sported a natural hairstyle.

Eugenie Niarchos, Gaia Repossi’s business partner and long-time friend, wore a dramatic number by Emilio Pucci, designed by Peter Dundas. I’m not a fan of Dundas’ sexy style (so reminiscent of Roberto Cavalli’s early 2000’s style), but this dress from the Spring 2011 collection is gorgeous, embellished with beads, tiny mirrors and daring cut-outs. She carried a box clutch and wore gold hoop earrings and suede sandals. Eugenie, like her friend, kept her make-up and hairstyle extremely simple.

One of the few show-stopping outfits was worn by Kirsten McMenamy, the white-haired model who is living a second youth after the success she had in the 90’s. Kirsten, who is Miles Aldridge’s wife and mother of three children, is an incredible woman, sophisticated and fearless, I admire her so much. She attended the gala with Courtney Love and Riccardo Tisci, wearing a Givenchy ensemble, including a black lace jumpsuit and a white tailcoat, black suede platform t-bar sandals and a clutch. Impressive.

Last but not least, here is the most fashion-forward dress of the event, worn by the stylist and W contributor Giovanna Battaglia, who arrived at the Hotel du Cap with her boyfriend Vladimir Restoin-Roitfeld. She wore a 1992 Stephen Sprouse dress, purchased at Rare Vintage in New York. Battaglia defined the dress “a true art piece” and she’s so right: the graphic quality of the dress – characterized by naked hips and a patch bra – turns it into a masterpiece of minimalism. The stylist completed it with an Emilio Pucci jacket, Sergio Rossi pumps and blue clutch.

What do you think of my picks? Do you agree with my best-dressed list?

Source, source, source and source.

3 comments

    1. I know, it’s so predictable, but I don’t feel like complaining. She’s always lovely when she wears Chanel or Rodarte!

  1. I gotta say that my red carpet darling was definetly Giovanna Battaglia, I’ve always been a huge fan of her style but that look was totally beyond what I expected!
    the dress is just stunning and I loved how she matched it with that blazer!
    Kirsten, Gaia and Eugenie were also very very nice!
    Contrarly I totally disliked Carine’s look, I was never a fan nor of ther style nor of her editorial line.
    I also loved Clémence Poésy in her Chanel Resort dress (I found her to be lovely all the times!), what do you think about it?:)

Leave a Reply

