Christina Aguilera’s Style: 2nd Annual Mary J. Blige Honors Concert in New York, May 1, 2011

Yesterday Christina Aguilera was spotted leaving from LAX and I must admit this got me intrigued. You know I’m so looking forward to the Costume Institute Gala in New York and I started wondering if she could be one of the guests. She’s never been invited but who knows? This morning I realized she went to the East Coast to perform at the 2nd Annual Mary J. Blige Honors Concert, which was held at the Hammerstein Ballroom to benefit FFAWN.

Her outfit totally surprised me. I was expecting her to wear a little black dress, because this seems to be the current trend she’s following, but I couldn’t imagine she would wear something so lovely!

This is a Valentino creation from the Resort 2011 collection: the one-shoulder dress combines different laces on the bodice and on the pencil skirt. A black ribbon and a black belt accent the shoulder and the waist, respectively. She also wore Christian Louboutin Madame Butterfly peep-toe pumps (the ones made of leather she already wore last week at the Tonight Show with Jay Leno). I’m glad she didn’t wear any jewellery, so as to emphasize the beautiful pattern of the dress. She’s rarely worn Valentino dresses [1], but I think this was a great choice for her, because the dress is very refined but not too ladylike.

Olga, one of my readers, pointed out the same dress has been previously seen on the red carpet: Kristen Stewart wore it in October 2010, when she attended the New York premiere of Welcome to the Rileys by Jake Scott. The dress looked beautiful on her because it suited her delicate features. In this case, the dress was styled properly: the actress sported an updo, thus showing the bow on the shoulder, a detail which is not emphasized on Christina.

I really like her make-up here, featuring her trademark red lips and dark red nails. My only complaint is – again – her hair. I don’t like this wavy hairstyle with central parting at all. I think she should stick to the hairstyle she sported in The Voice last week, one of the best she’s ever had.

What do you think of her outfit? Improvement or not?

[1] She wore a Valentino gown at the 59th Annual Primetime Emmy Awards in 2007. She was pregnant and she looked amazing!

Source, source and source.

8 comments

  1. I love the dress do cute! But just few weeks ago Kristen Steward wore the same dress! anyway i think she looks gorgeus but i agree with you the hair are bad

    1. Oh, thanks for letting me know Kristen wore the same dress (I didn’t know that). I’ll write it in the post.

  2. a me il vestitino piace eccome. certo in confronto alla Steward cade in modo diverso (vedi fianchi e cosciotte), ma a me lei piace anche per questo ^^
    il trucco è azzeccato, il rosso le sta benissimo.

    1. Il vestito è bello e a lei sta bene, secondo me. Certo, il confronto con la Stewart è impietoso, ma chissene. La stampa la sta massacrando a causa della figura più piena che ha sfoggiato in questi ultimi mesi, accusandola senza mezzi termini di essere grassa, ma mi auguro che lei continui a farsi una risata alle spalle di questi frustrati.

      1. Lo so, ma sai come sono gli americani? Adesso va di moda mettere alla gogna lei, così come è successo con Jessica Simpson qualche anno fa. Poracci, si divertono così, evidentemente…

Leave a Reply

