“Feminism Is More About Woman’s Consciousness.”

Have you ever thought what is the condition of women in other countries? Have you ever wondered if feminism is a world-wide movement, characterized by different issues and focusing on different ideas, according to the country where its members live? If you’ve read all the questionaries I’ve published so far, you may have realized all the guest writers come from Europe and the United States, but I wanted to give you a different perspective; for this reason, I asked Nouf, a girl from Qatar, to answer my questions and she was so kind to complete the questionary for me.

Her favourite teapot

*What do you regard as the lowest depth of misery?
When everything in the earth disappoints me.

*What is your idea of earthly happiness?
When I achieve all my goals, make my dreams true and make others happy, especially my parents.

*Who are your favorite heroines of fiction?
Tinker Bell.

*Who are your favorite heroes in real life?
Shaikh Mohammed bin Hamad Al Thani (the son of the Emir of Qatar).

*What is your most vivid memory of the 90s (from music, fashion, politics, culture)?
I remember everything about Disney, including music, fashion, etc.

*What does “feminism” mean to you?
It means when the women act like real women from the diverse aspects like the way of talking and thinking.

*Have you ever given an active contribution to the feminist cause?
Yes, I volunteered in “Let’s think pink” to support the women who suffers breast cancer

*Have you ever experienced sexism?
No.

*The quality you most admire in a man?
When they care.

*The quality you most admire in a woman?
When they respect.

*What is your motto?
What doesn’t destroy me makes me strong.

*What is the object that represents you most?
Princess things, tea pot, mugs.

*Who would you have liked to be?
Sheikha Moza Bint Nasser Almisnad (the wife of the Emir of Qatar).

*Could you put your identity into a few key words?
Peaceful, respectful, humble, smart, social and helpful.

*How do you imagine your identity changing in ten years? Or twenty?
I will not change – Inshalla – because this is my personality and the life is a big exam that assess us and we have to learn from it.

Her name in Arabic

I’ve virtually known Nouf thanks to her lovely photostream on Flickr: she’s a talented young photographer, who lets the viewer step into a magical world. The influence of her native culture is mirrored by her shots, but what mostly comes out is a free spirit, who wants to live and love according to her personality and dreams.

 

Share

One comment

  1. I love that you have brodened our horizion with your reaching out to other cultures with a lot of respect .
    I think women all over the world share many things ,yet we are different in our dreams and goals in life but we all understand each other in a magical way that make womenhood so unique .

Leave a Reply

