From the Valley to the Upper East Side: Lily Van der Woodsen’s Style Cross-Over (4.13 – Damien Darko)

Sorry for the delay in writing a post about the 13th episode of Gossip Girl. I’ve kept it in the drafts for more than two weeks because I hoped I could identify the garments seen on Lily; unfortunately I couldn’t, so here it is my take on Damien Darko [1].

My favourite character appears in a couple of scenes, where she sports the same outfit. The first scene is set in her apartment’s dining room, where she’s having breakfast with Rufus.

Don’t you think it’s extremely cool to have breakfast wearing such a gorgeous sequined jacket? Yes, it’s definitely unusual and over-the-top, but the colour and the shape of the jacket turn it into a classic piece, so Upper East Side.

There’s something different in her hairstyle, this time, so I decided to post a picture of her flawless updo. She usually sports her hair styled in a messy bun, but here we can see (and fall in awe, if you love it as much as I do) a perfectly combed chignon. Awww, lovely!

We can get a glimpse of her outfit in one of the OMG moments of the episode. Jonathan, Eric’s ex-boyfriend, pays him a visit and dishes their break-up with Lily, who has actually no idea of what is happening to her son.

She paired her chic jacket with grey wide-cut pants and completed the outfit with a cute satin bow belt.

I’ll remember this scene forever, because it’s the first time Lily really looks pissed off and angry at someone. I bet she would feel miserable if she discovered Eric’s recent addiction to drugs, somehow caused by the bad influence of the villain Damien Delgaard (do you remember he was behind Jenny’s descent to hell in the third season?). Later in the episode, we are given another slice of family drama, when Serena, Eric and Rufus find out that Lily tried to bribe Ben to leave her family alone. It’s  clear he’s not the positive character he appears to be, so I guess he will spark new tension in the plot.

Now, when it comes to the id failure, please forgive me, but I couldn’t find any information about the jacket anywhere. I cried for help in some celebrity style sites, I even asked Kelly Rutherford via her Twitter account, but nothing. If someone knows who designed it, please drop me a line: you’ll win my gratitude.

[1] The title is a reference to one of my favourite movies, Donnie Darko (2001) by Richard Kelly, a dark dramatic mystery starring Jake and Maggie Gyllenhaal, Jena Malone and the late Patrick Swayze.

Source.

Share

6 comments

  1. Couldn’t possibly be a Giambattista Valli jacket? The bow, the color and the shape of the sleeves kinda remind me of his FW2010/11 collection.

  2. i have no idea who designed this jacket but i do like it even thought it’s a bit over the top for breafast…the grey pants tone down the outfit make it more wearable for a day outfit..the bow is just cute…as for her perfect bun all i can say is wow..how can this woman have breakfast with hair like this? my hair always look messy and unbrushed and my outfit sucks in comparison to that and i am a fashion addict

Leave a Reply

