Christina Aguilera’s Style: Singing the National Anthem at Super Bowl XLV, 06/02/11

It doesn’t happen very often, but when my dreams come true, when I succeed in reaching a long-awaited goal, it’s like being on cloud nine, a strange feeling where happiness and relief mix. Probably Christina Aguilera felt the same yesterday, when she sang the American anthem at the Super Bowl held at the Cowboys Stadium in Arlington, Texas. She has sung it since she was 7 and I’m sure performing at such an important event is a dream come true.

I must admit I was afraid of her style choice, because she hasn’t looked that good lately, but when I saw the pictures from the event, my heart leapt up: she was stunning, wearing an incredibly chic outfit. This is what I have been longing for so much time! A beautiful tailored skirt suit is just perfect on her, because it makes her look classy but not boring. The only tiny downside are the tights, but I guess she wore them to add a lady-like touch.

She wore a Dolce & Gabbana tailored skirt suit: the model on the right has been slightly modified, because the jacket Christina wore has three buttons and not four. I love this suit: the pencil skirt, the stitch trim details and the adorable two front flap-over pockets make it such a timeless piece!

It looks like these Calypso pumps by Christian Louboutin are her lucky shoes. She has worn them many times, and in this case they completed a classic outfit, adding a much needed pop of colour. The colour combination of black, red and sparkling aqua green (of the captoe) is gorgeous.

Christina’s favourite jeweller is Stephen Webster, so it’s no wonder that she chose to wear his creations at such an important event. She wore a band diamond ring, a diamond necklace (sorry but I couldn’t find any close-ups of it), a round ring from the Superstud collection and a cuff from the Crystal Haze collection. The last two pieces are embellished with diamonds and grey cat’s eye stones.

Awww, she looked amazing in this shot. Her make-up was flawless, I’m so glad she wore her trademark red lipstick, because it was important to make an impression. I think she still has to figure out what is the best hairstyle for her, though: she wore her hair loose and straight, center-parted, but I wish she ditched those extensions and opted for a more modern (and short) cut. Her style is becoming more and more definite, but it’s clear she still has to find her own voice in this field.

Now, before closing the post, just a few words on the performance. I’m not American, so I cannot say if I had felt outraged by Christina’s lyrics mishap, but I really don’t think so. I’ve read so many hateful comments – some of them were even racist – which have made me realize contemporary society needs to pull its act together and to focus on what is important in life. I live in Italy and I can assure you life here is complicated and difficult: a singer mixing up the lyrics of the national anthem is NOT a problem or something one should get angry about. C’mon haters, get a life and think about what YOU can do to make this world a better place to live in. In case you missed it, here is the (breath-taking, in my opinion) performance.

Opinions on her outfit?

Source, source and source.

2 comments

Leave a Reply

