A Saint Tropez La Luna Si Desta Con Te

I stopped writing on my Italian blog in 2009, so you may wonder why I decided to give a title in Italian to this post. Well, I must admit I couldn’t help but choosing a verse from St. Tropez Twist, a song by Peppino di Capri, one of the most famous Italian crooners. The song, part of the soundtrack of Dino Risi’s masterpiece, Il sorpasso (1962), starring Vittorio Gassman and Jean-Louis Trintignant, is a symbol of long-gone summer days and can be certainly seen as a link to Chanel. I know it sounds incredible, but it’s true: the glorious past of St. Tropez, set in the Côte d’Azur region of South-Eastern France, has been used by Karl Lagerfeld as the main source of inspiration for Chanel Resort 2011 collection.

As usual, the costume jewellery of the same season re-works the themes of the collection. To be honest, it didn’t impress me much, even if some pieces caught my attention. Here they are.

These lace metal Rosette earrings are stunning and peculiar: their shape and size is so un-Chanel, but the decoration smartly plays with the main symbols of the Parisian maison – the number 5, the double C, the bow and the clover.

Since the collection is inspired to a famous sea resort, sea symbols are featured in some pieces: the metal and glass pearl necklace in the picture above, for example, is embellished with cute strass sea-horses and double Cs.

Pearls have always been a staple in Chanel jewellery collections and they have been included in this line, as well: the metal stud earrings and brooch above are embellished with natural and baroque pearls.

I have mixed feelings for this necklace: I like the mixed braided metal and pearl strands, but the pendant with pearls looks really tacky and cheap.

I’ve never been a fan of amber, but I’d like to have this necklace in my jewel box: it’s a hand-enameled metal double strand chain necklace, embellished with amber drops, glass pearls and metal double Cs.

These two pieces stand on a thin line between beautiful and ugly. I guess the key is to make them statement pieces and to wear them with very simple outfits. Both the metal chain necklace and ring are embellished with hand-enameled Southwestern-style medallions, decorated with glass pearls.

When I first saw these gingham items, I was disgusted, because they looked so cheap; then, I don’t know why, they have slowly grown on me. Now I don’t love them, but I may accept they can be funny to be worn in summer. The hand-enameled metal earrings are embellished with gingham cotton pearls, while the metal cuff bracelet is covered with gingham toile.

When I think of St. Tropez and of gingham fabric, the name of Brigitte Bardot immediately comes to my mind. The iconic French actress must have been one of the sources of inspiration for the collection, for she was the one who made gingham trendy and sexy.  The hand-enameled metal double-strand long necklace is embellished with gingham cotton knots and pearls and glass pearls; the hand-enameled metal charm bracelet is embellished with gingham cotton and glass pearls.

This resin bracelet is one of my favourite pieces: I love its shape and the decoration – it’s inlaid with gingham-style strass.

The collection was presented last May in St. Tropez: the setting was one of the most famous streets of the town, Quai Jean Jaurès, facing the port. The celebrities were sitting in red wooden chairs [1] in front of Sénéquier, and infamous restaurant of St. Trop, founded in 1887.

The collection didn’t impress me much, but the top seen on Freja Beha was one of my favourite items: it’s a precious lace-effect jewelled vest, embellished with natural pearls, agate stones, quartz and strass. I love how it was styled – with silver sequined shorts and a bouclè jacket, very chic indeed.

What are your opinions on this collection? Which piece would you like to get from Santa?

[1] It’s not a case that red wooden chairs were used in the costume jewellery catalogue photoshoot as props.

Source and source.

Share

Leave a Reply

