From the Valley to the Upper East Side: Lily Van der Woodsen’s Style Cross-Over (4.09 – The Witches of Bushwick + Hermès Moment in Real Life)

Sorry if I’m publishing a post on Lily Van der Woodsen’s style in The Witches of Bushwick [1] so late! I’ve been busy with school and family, but I couldn’t skip my favourite weekly appointment, so here are some details on the only (sigh) outfit she sported in the episode, and some preliminary considerations.

I’ve always thought the character of Serena is the most fragile of all, because she’s got lots of unresolved personal issues, things that happened in the past and that are still haunting her. Apart from Blake Lively’s monotone acting skills, what makes Serena fragile but insufferable is her utter inability to see her flaws, to accept her mistakes and to pay her dues. I’m not a fan of the Witches of Brooklyn (Jenny, Vanessa and Juliet) but, at this point of the story, I think they’re what it takes to kick Serena’s ass for real. It’s clear that Lily is unable to handle her daughter, because she sends contradictory signs: at the beginning of the episode, she’s mad at her because of an article about the liason with Colin on a gossip column, but then she defends and protects her in front of the faculty’s dean.

I know it’s rough-and-ready psychology, but probably she can’t handle her because Serena is somehow a reminder of her old ways. Even if they argue and are constantly in contrast, they’re very much connected.

In this episode, Lily appears in several scenes, but she sports one outfit only, a flawless example of what I call “understated country chic”. The country is just a week-end idea for the Upper East Siders, but Lily can give a beautiful interpretation of the theme by wearing skinny jeans and over-the-knee brown boots, a printed chiffon shirt with bow and a comfy draped sweater.

The draped sweater is a creation by Elie Tahari, made of tweed wool, sleeveless and without buttons.

A detail of her outfit which attracted my attention is the bag she carried in the opening scene. After realizing it was not a Hermès bag, I started digging to find the exact style and brand.

This is a Dee One bag by Loro Piana, a gorgeous shoulder bag by Loro Piana, made of deer leather. It’s a refined and understated style which perfectly matches Lily’s relaxed yet prim outfit.

Another detail I’ve grown obsessed with are Lily’s earrings, because I think they’re such classic pieces of jewellery.

These are designed by H. Stern and are part of the Cobblestones Crystal Collection: they are made of 18-karat polished gold, square-cut faceted quartz drops and pavé diamonds.

I’ve often complained that we can’t see any Hermès bags in the show, because Eric Daman has incomprehensibly decided to take them off Lily’s arm, but – thank God – Kelly is a Hermès lover at heart. As you may know, she’s a big collector of Hermès bags and accessories: she owns Birkin and Kelly bags, but now she’s the proud owner of a Victoria II bag as well.

She sported the new addition to her collection when she attended the 24th Annual Power Lunch for Women in New York. She wore a nice grey pant-suit with matching draped top; even if I would never carry a brown bag with an all-grey outfit, she looked great.

If I’m not mistaken, her Victoria II bag is in Ebene colour, a lovely dark chocolate brown. I love this style, which is originally from the S/S 2007 collection, because it’s perfect for everyday, slouchy and simple in shape.

What are your opinions on the episode? What is going to happen to Serena, now she’s in Juliet’s hands?

[1] The title comes from one of my favourite movies from the 80s, The Witches of Eastwick (1987) by George Miller, starring Jack Nicholson, Michelle Pfeiffer, Susan Sarandon and Cher.

Source and source.

Share

5 comments

  1. Hi! I just wanted to let you know that I have not forgotten about you. I have just been very busy with school, but it will be over in a few weeks and I will try to help you ID more of Lily’s stuff.

    You have done a really great job so far 🙂 And I hope I can contribute something too

    N

    1. Hi! It’s nice to hear from you 🙂 You know how difficult is to identify Lily’s outfits, so I’m looking forward to receiving some help from you 🙂 Take care!

  2. Probably, Eric Daman made some arrangment with other sponsor for product placement.
    I think that luxury brands are very interested to invest money in these productions. At last, it’s a good advertising.
    Caroline

    1. Yes, I’m sure this is the reason why she’s not carrying her own Hermès bags in the show. Gossip Girl is such an important display for upcoming or niche brands, so it’s no wonder Daman decided to choose some of them for Lily’s wardrobe.

Leave a Reply

