Ode to China Glaze

I proudly admit I haven’t been watching television for more than two years now, because I am disgusted of the useless and tasteless programs of contemporary Italian television. I’ve never been an avid tv watcher, but some of my dearest memories are related to tv shows, moments and characters of the past. For example, one of these pivotal moments – Madonna’s black nails at Sanremo Festival in 1995 – is related to my passion for nail polishes: it all began when I fell in love with dark colours, which led me to experiment with vibrant shades and different finishes.

In spite of this, I am not a nail polish fiend – I don’t own a huge collection and I don’t buy each and every limited edition colour on the market – but I must confess I am becoming more and more addicted to a brand. In the past, I wore L’Oreal and Maybelline polishes (drugstore brands in general); then I momentarily fell in love with Chanel polishes (way too expensive), until I finally started buying OPI and China Glaze polishes. I cannot but praise both brands for producing high-quality products, but I am definitely a China Glaze girl: the incredible colour range of the American brand has stolen my heart!

My China Glaze collection is small but I own some colours I won’t get bored of. I am not a die-hard fan of glittering nail polishes, but I often wear them because they’re fun to play with. The main downside is that it takes ages to remove them.

Luna is part of China Glaze Glitters collection: it’s a shimmering silver with fine glitter and holo hex glitter. I’ve been looking for the perfect glittering silver nail polish for a long time and Luna seems to be a great option.

When I last wore it, the day was cloudy, so you cannot get the incredible amount of shining coming from it.

Ruby Pumps is the most incredible glittering red hot polish I’ve ever seen! It surely is one of the most reviewed colour out there, so I’m sure many of you know it well.

The name of the polish is inspired to the infamous ruby slippers worn by Dorothy (Judy Garland), the protagonist of The Wizard of Oz (1939) by Victor Fleming. In the original novel, The Wonderful Wizard of Oz by L. Frank Baum, Dorothy wore silver shoes, which were turned into ruby pumps to take advantage of the Technicolor process. The amount of red glitters in the polish equals the shimmering red sequins on the pumps.

The picture above was taken indoor, without flash: only the sparkling top coat is visible.

I love this picture: the glittering nail polish in the bottle is mesmerizing. I applied two coats of Ruby Pumps, a coat of Kiko Sparkle Touch n. 270 and Seche Vite top coat.

For Audrey is another iconic China Glaze colour: first launched in 2007 as a homage to Audrey Hepburn and her character in Breakfast at Tiffany’s (1961) by Blake Edwards, it is reminiscent of the unique turquoise shade of Tiffany boxes.

Though not a fan of creme polishes, I immediately fell in love with it, because the colour is extremely vibrant and flattering.

A downside of creme polishes is that they’re not easy to apply without leaving streaks on nails: two or more coats are always required to achieve a perfect coverage and the right shade.

This polish doesn’t hide special effects which come out by the light of the sun, but I thought it was nice to show you it looked more vibrant than ever.

The latest addition to my collection is Re-Fresh Mint, part of the Up & Away collection. If you’ve been caught in the frenzy caused by the uber-limited edition Chanel nail polish in Jade, I’m sure you must have stumbled on this shade.

It’s a minty pastel green creme polish, which really reminds you of spring. It has no shimmers, it’s a pure creme.

The picture was taken when the weather was cloudy, but you can see how the mint green colour still stands out.

Before closing, here is my tiny collection of turquoise/mint green polishes. From left to right: China Glaze For Audrey, Chanel Nouvelle Vague, China Glaze Re-Fresh Mint, Essie Mint Candy Apple.

At first glance the colours are pretty similar, but once applied you realize they’re actually different.

Re-Fresh Mint and Mint Candy Apple share lots of similarities: they’re both creme polishes, without shimmers, but the first has a green undertone, while the second runs blue in comparison. I love both, but Mint Candy Apple is easier to apply, since it’s a little more creamier than the other one.

For Audrey and Nouvelle Vague are apparently similar, but don’t have much in common: the first is creme, while the other has tiny shimmers, only visible by the light of the sun. Moreover, For Audrey is slightly darker than Nouvelle Vague.

At the moment I’ve got several China Glaze polishes in my wish list – 2Nite, Agent Lavender, Fairy Dust, Sour Apple, Towel Toy Boy and Candie – but I am sure I’ll soon add many more. Addiction, anyone?

Do you have a favourite nail polish shade or brand? Share your thoughts in the comments!

Share

5 comments

Leave a Reply

