Red Carpet Heroines: Anna Paquin

I’ve always had unusual tastes – in music, fashion, cinema…and boys – so it’s no wonder one of my red carpet heroines is Anna Paquin. When I first wrote a post about her style, she was starting to come out of her cocoon of Victorian/dark/vampy style, after dying her hair blonde and starring in the first season of the hit tv show True Blood. It’s clear this radical change in her style has followed an important change in her professional and personal life: soon after acting in True Blood, she  started a relationship with her on-screen lover, the British actor Stephen Moyer, whom she eventually married last August.

I am still a fan of her red carpet style, but I must admit I miss the awkward appearances she made when she was so different: I felt much more related to that Anna than to this one, who is gradually conforming to Hollywood rules. But enough with my rants: here are the latest looks she sported on the red carpet, starting with the 62nd Primetime Emmy Awards.

As a great fan of Alexander McQueen, she chose a dress from the Resort 2011 collection, designed by Sarah Burton.

The choice of wearing this dress came quite unexpected, because Anna has never been a fan of embellished clothes, but it’s evident she must have changed her mind. Even if this dress on her doesn’t convince me 100%, I must admit she looked lovely.

The dress, made of black satin, is heavily embellished with gold beading and studs on the bodice and on shoulders (the effect reminds me of Ancient Egyptian decorations). She paired it to Yves Saint Laurent Tribute platform pumps in black patent leather.

She completed the look with a stunning Alexander McQueen Brittania punk skull clutch in red and an array of bracelets from House of Lavande. Needless to say, I am in awe of her box clutch, a recent design which perfectly embodies the rebel spirit of the late McQueen. I also love her hairstyle – a chic updo with a barely visible headband – and make-up, fresh and neutral.

After the Emmy Awards ceremony, Anna and Stephen attended the HBO after-party.

For the occasion, she only changed her dress and kept the shoes and accessories she had worn at the ceremony.

She wore another Alexander McQueen creation, an angular-shouldered crepe dress in black, the perfect choice for an after-party. I love the shape of this dress – feminine and chic – and the draping on the skirt.

A couple of days before the Emmy Awards, on August 27th, they attended the Entertainment Weekly and Women in Film pre-Emmy party at the Sunset Marquis Hotel in West Hollywood.

It’s quite rare to see her dressed in bright colours, but this was the case. First of all, let me say I love her make-up here, more dramatic than what she uses to wear. As a downside, I hate her messy updo.

She wore a Preen stretch revers satin Plaza dress in red: the dress has a single shoulder and a cut-out on the back. It’s a pity we don’t get to see her dressed in red, because she looked awesome. She paired it to Brian Atwood Maniac black pumps.

The back of her hairstyle is gorgeous – a romantic, messy braid styled in an updo – but the front is hideous.

If we go back in time, last July we saw the soon-to-be husband and wife attending the Comic-Con 2010 in San Diego, where a True Blood panel was held.

I think Anna’s features are not fully emphasized by her blonde hair. It’s true she looks traditionally cuter as a blonde, but it’s like she has lost part of her mystery. This doesn’t mean she doesn’t look gorgeous: she is just more ordinary, according to Hollywood standards.

At the Comic-Con, she wore a Helmut Lang abstract-printed dress and Opening Ceremony pumps. I am not crazy for the print, but I like the asymmetrical neckline. You may have noticed she wore a modified version of the dress from the Fall/Winter 2010 collection, because her dress is sleeveless. She also wore Jamie Wolf engraved bracelets.

Awwww, how cute and romantic!!! I am a supporter of the Sookie Stackhouse/Bill Compton couple (I know I am a minority, since most of True Blood fans hate Bill and would like Sookie to turn to Eric instead), so it’s so nice to see they’re a couple in real life, too. Is it only me, or do you agree that Stephen looked extremely hot here?

On July 14th she attended a True Blood press conference at the Four Seasons hotel in Hollywood.

This is one of the best outfits recently seen on her: she looked sexy, but not tacky, in this short draped dress. I particularly love the abstract and colourful print.

The dress is from Etoile Isabel Marant collection and really suits Anna. I am sorry but I couldn’t find a full figure picture anywhere: I am curious of her shoe choice, but I am sure she wore her trademark black pumps. Anna is not adventurous when it comes to the shoes she wears on the red carpet. She accessorized the dress with Andrea Lieberman gold bangles.

Ok: I’ve just written I love the couple Sookie/Bill, but the hotness  of Alexander Skarsgaard is undeniable. Who can look so hot with a denim shirt on?

Last but not least, here is the outfit she wore at the premiere of True Blood‘s third season, on June 8th.

She looked cute in her black and royal blue dress, but there’s something in this outfit which doesn’t convince me. It is as if something was missing – an embellishment on the dress or some pieces of jewelry – to turn the dress from plain to interesting.

She wore the modified version of a Proenza Schouler dress, from the Resort 2011 collection. Anna’s dress is sleeveless and in solid colours. I wish she wore the original dress instead, because I am sure it would have been not so boring.

She completed the look with interesting accessories – a Proenza Schouler PS1 clutch bag in black and Brian Atwood Harrison pumps (see the grommeted lace-up decoration on the back). I agree with the choice of wearing apparently classic shoes (with a turn), but I can’t get over the black clutch bag. A pop of bright colour was needed here – not more black! She also wore an Andrea Lieberman large diamond bangle from the Tribal collection and Anndra Neen elephant-hair bangle.

What do you think of this sexier mood on Anna? Do you prefer it to the Victorian-heroine look she had when she was a brunette? And as for True Blood, are you excited about the third season’s finale?

Source, source and source.

Share

2 comments

  1. I am not very familiar with Anna Paquin and her style, but I think that being blonde doesn’t suit her at all- I think it takes character away from her, and sometimes makes her look a bit trashy (e.g. in the photo with the red dress). In terms of her Proenza Schouler outfit, I understand your perplexity as I don’t think it suits her, as it makes her neck look much shorter- another good reason to switch back to dark hair.

    1. She dyed her hair blonde for her character in True Blood is blonde, otherwise I think she would have kept her hair dark. Sookie Stackhouse is not white trash, but she embodies a sort of Southern Belle, so I guess her being blonde is really functional to the role.

      In any case, I agree with you, and I hope she will ditch her blonde locks as soon as the tv show comes to an end.

Leave a Reply

