From the Valley to the Upper East Side: Lily Van Der Woodsen’s Style On the Set

You may remember my relief, last June, when the third season of Gossip Girl was over. I was glad it was over because it has been the worst season so far; even if I watched all the episodes (yes, even the tragically comic last episode), I wished more than once not to actually see what I was watching, but the impulse was stronger than me.

In any case, bad memories are past and now it’s time to feast our eyes on the fabulous outfits coming from the set of the tv show, which is being filmed in New York. I’ve immensely appreciated the colourful outfits sported by Blair and Serena in Paris, but I was really looking forward to seeing what Eric Daman had in store for Lily, my favourite character. Her first public appearance didn’t disappoint me, on the contrary, it left me hungry for more fabulousity.

I’m curious about the plot of the episode they were filming and I’d really like to know the role of Hamish Bowles, the infamous European Editor at Large at Vogue, but I’d better leave my curiosity out and focus on Lily’s amazing dress.


The number she was wearing is a creation by Reem Acra, a purple sleeveless dress, with draped details on the hips and a plunging neckline. She looked absolutely flawless, even if my only complaint is about the front fitting of the dress. Kelly Rutherford is not bosomy and this dress shows it, because it is as if the cleavage’s part of the bodice is ’empty’.

The accessories of this outfit are perfect to add touches of glamour. I have a passion for big, ethnic necklaces, so I immediately noticed and fell for the Aurélie Bidermann heart beaded piece seen on Lily.

She added Asha by ADM Ines gold vermeil and amethyst chandelier earrings, too.

She also wore a CC Skye triple snake bracelet and carried a Kotur Fane pleated clutch in exotic snakeskin. I’m really loving her chic updo here and her lighter blonde hair.

The same day – July 15th – the actress was spotted out and about in New York, around the filming set. I am in awe of this outfit because I think Kelly Rutherford has got an incredible personal style – relaxed yet elegant – so it’s always extremely inspiring to see what she wears off duty. She is a collector of Hermès accessories and bags, and I was a little disappointed that her passion didn’t show in the third season, where she carried bags of other brands. When she’s not filming, she always gives us Hermès moments, which I love. She wore rolled-up jeans (I like this Capri style so much), a white blouse and her trusty Lilly Pulitzer gold Mckim sandals).

The blouse has exquisite embroideries on the neckline and sleeves and reminds me of Middle-East traditional garments. The Hermès accessory she was wearing is one of her Collier de Chien cuff bracelets, made of beige leather with gold metal parts. Her messy updo is lovely and so is her make-up with peachy pink tones. Is it me or does she actually look younger in these pics?

The following day she was on the set again. Unfortunately, there is no glimpse of her scene outfit, but she was spotted off duty. She wore a baggy white dress with a sporty vibe and brown trims on the neckline. I’m not a fan of this look, but she impeccably accessorized it – Lanvin flats, a Hermès taupe fringed scarf and her beloved Medor watch. The finishing touch is given by Benjamin Nicole sunglasses in Crystal, which she previously wore last spring.

What do you think of the candids coming from the set of Gossip Girl? Any expectations about the upcoming season?

Source and source.

Share

9 comments

  1. Season premiere? when?
    I cannot wait to see Blair wearing that gorgeous Moschino dress in the first Parisienne episodes!

  2. mmmh…do you suspect she had some cosmetic surgery operation?

    And I agree with you about the purple dress. The bodice is more low necked for her and it looks she have a very flabby bosom. If you are a over forty woman (but I think this advice is good for thirty-something too)you must wear your bra all the time.

    1. I don’t know. It’s possible, since she really looks younger than usual. She probably had some retouching, nothing drastic.

      I agree with you on the bra: Blake Lively is young and tonic and she can wear low-cut dresses without wearing a bra, but Kelly Rutherford should follow your advice.

  3. Ahhh,
    che bello non vedo l’ora che cominci!,le foto dal set mi hanno messo una grande eccitazione!.
    Le immagini di B&S pervenute finora sono fantastiche,Serena in quel Jenny Packham è stata un’ apparizione,ed ancora prima in couture Chakra di giorno con brogue ai piedi a Parigi…che meraviglia!.
    Acconciature molto belle(compresa quella di Lily qui sopra),la quarta stagione promettere benissimoooo.
    Però,c’è un però:il Chuck Bass che tanto amiamo,non si meritava una girl dall’aspetto un pò più…interessante?.
    A.

    1. Hai toccato un punto dolente: Clemence Poesy come donna di Chuck??? Probabilmente dal punto di vista estetico la coppia funziona: lei è carina, dallo stile understated, magari ben si accosta al – probabilmente – nuovo corso di Mr Bass, però vederli insieme mi fa una strana impressione. Anche per questo, però, sono curiosa di vedere cosa succederà nella quarta serie.

Leave a Reply

