Christina Aguilera’s Style: Leaving Trousdale Club in Los Angeles, 23/03/10

After four years, which seemed like forever, Christina Aguilera’s comeback has finally become reality. Through her revamped website, she has presented the cover and the lyrics of her first single (Not Myself Tonight) and the cover of Bionic, her fifth studio album. You know I’m a big Christina’s fan, so I guess there’s no need to explain how excited and happy I am for this new work, I really cannot wait listening to it, especially to the songs coming from the collaborations with Sia, Goldfrapp, Le Tigre and Santigold.

She’s preparing to return on the scenes, and I think she’s experimenting with her look. Some days ago she was spotted out in Los Angeles, where she attended a show at the Coast Playhouse; she also went to the Trousdale Club. I have very mixed feelings when it comes to the outfit she sported: I first thought she was channelling Sandy in the final scene of Grease, because of her curly updo, but the overall look doesn’t convince me much.

She wore a cropped leather jacket, black cut-off shorts, a black Chloe Paddington Dome bag, studded peep-toe d’Orsay pumps and a striped top. She looks tired in these pics, and her make-up doesn’t help. I love celebrities who experiment with make-up (because I love doing it, too), but I think she still has to find the look which suits her best; in any case, this combination blue/green eyes and muted red lips is not a good choice.


The updo a nice change from her straight bob, but I don’t like it, because all those curls are overwhelming. The idea of this updo is funny – a sort of curly mohawk – but it doesn’t suit her much.

The cropped leather jacket she wore is by Doma. The hoop earrings are creations by Stephen Webster, her favourite jeweller: these Superstud Fringe hoop earrings are made of silver, black rhodium and gold.

Christina has an obsession for Christian Louboutin shoes, so it’s not surprising that she wore one of the latest red-soled creations, a pair of Engin Spike d’Orsay pumps. The upper part of the shoe is made of clear plastic embellished with silver studs, while the lower part is red hot. This style is gorgeous and is quickly becoming a hit (Rihanna, Cheryl Cole, Zoe Saldana, Katie Cassidy and Elisa Sednaoui have been spotted wearing it).

When it comes to the cover of Not Myself Tonight, it has been a major letdown for me. I had really high expectations, and this is nothing we have never seen before. She is still sticking to her sexy-naughty persona and she is wearing a latex bodysuit, with a Dolce & Gabbana metal corset belt at the waist, driving gloves and a studded leather bracelet on her arm. Devil’s horns and spiked tail have been added. Far from being ground-breaking, I think it’s just plain boring.

As for the cover of Bionic, I cannot say how much I love it. This is how things should be done! Christina is not just a sexy chick, because she is an artist with a lot to say and to express, and the artwork of her album is a great symbol of what she’s capable of. The visionary photographer Alix Malka worked with her on the album, press and tour images. The cover sees Christina’s face divided in half – part human, part cyborg – connected by her trademark red lips. I love the platinum blonde hairstyle – so 40s – and the fact that the throat, where the vocal chords are, is part of her “bionic” being.

This brilliant version of a staple theme of science-fiction [1] – a robot which resembles a human being but is in fact a machine – includes lots of personal references. If you take a look at the picture in high definition, you’ll see the elements which make her mechanic half: there are a drum with “Max” written on it, a record with “Jordan” on it, a light bulb, some birds, the word “Olivia”, the word “D’Face” on a clock, some trumpets, a glass of water, an angel with a trumpet, the word “Mum” on an alphabet circle, the word “Eve” on a gauge, her birthdate (December 18th, 1980). The style this artwork is not futuristic, but is reminiscent of Victorian drawings from the Nineteenth century, and probably that is the reason why the artwork of Smashing Pumpkin’s Mellon Collie and the Infinite Sadness immediately came to my mind when I saw the mechanic part in detail.

What are your thoughts about Christina’s outfit? And what about the covers of her single and album? Are you looking forward to her comeback?

[1] Metropolis (1927) by Fritz Lang, Blade Runner (1982) by Ridley Scott, the Terminator cycle, RoboCop (1987) by Paul Verhoeven, I, Robot (2004) by Alex Proyas, the cyberpunk literary production by William Gibson, Star Trek‘s Borgs, Doctor Who‘s Cybermen, Battlestar Galactica‘s Cylons, Marvel’s Iron Man, Motoko Kusanagi, the protagonist of Masamune Shirow’s Ghost in the Shell manga, are just some examples of the incredible productivity of the theme.

Source and source.

Share

9 comments

  1. I have an obsession with stripy tees, and I really love hers, because the stripes on it don’t continue to the hem but stop at the waist. I also really really like the shoes, but yes, overall not a great outfit- and that kind of make up and hairstyle make her look much older than she is!
    About the cover-Bionic reminds me of some Dali as well, and I love the typeface she used. As for “Not Myself Tonight” well, what can I say? To me it feels so much like high school “good girl turned bad”- sad really!!I would expect this sort of thing from Katy Perry or someone like that, but Christina is capable of so much more!

  2. Exactly! That is the reason why that cover really let me down. You’d expect Katy Perry or Kesha or another pop tart to release a cheap cover like this, but not Christina. The album cover, on the other hand, is lovely, so much original and interesting.

    The outfit she sported that evening was not good at all, and I hope she ditches the curly mohawk as soon as possible. I think she looked 10,000 times better the day after –> http://www.starstyleinc.com/shopping-in-beverly-hills-march-26-2010-sp45098-full.html. She looks lovely with the straight bob.

  3. Ciao superqueen,

    I have an off-topic and (quite) random question for you. Actually, an opinion more than a question. Here’s the background. I’ll be soon done with my master, and to celebrate the end of this period and the transition to a new one, I wanted to get myself a bag. A milestone bag, if you will, something that I can keep for long time, something I can look at and think of all the weekends spent working (“but it was worth it”), something I may even pass on, one day, to my daughters …. You get the picture. So lately, I’ve been on the look-out for bags, indulging outside the windows in a way I’ve never done before, until I stepped into Chanel (trying to get their new Rouge Coco #5, of course sold out, but that’s another story). And I think I found “my” bag. It’s an accordion bag, without the flap, in black matelasse leather, and the typical chain thingy. It’s beyond beautiful. The problem? It’s obnoxiously expensive–over $2,000.

    So what am I asking? Well, I know little of bags and purses. I think my most expensive purse don’t go over $200. I tend to fall prey of shoe shopping but I’m reasonable when it comes to handbags. So I am not sure whether I’d be crazy to comply, whether it’s worth it (other than the fact that I love the purse), whether … Not sure. I think I would like an opinion from a purse connoisseur, like you🙂

    Thanks!
    c.

    1. I can totally understand your feeling when it comes to a “milestone” bag and I totally agree with you.

      If I were you, I would buy a true classic like the 2.55 (the Jumbo size is perfect), because I know 1000% for sure that I wouldn’t regret the purchase. I don’t know the style you’re referring to, but if you strongly feel it is THE bag you’d love to pass on to your daughters, well, go for it!

    1. Of course she’s not.
      The girl wrapped in plastic in the 7th video is Jonna Lee for sure, and the singing voice is def not Christina’s. I don’t think JL is the mind behind this amazing viral campaign, it’s probably something bigger and I honestly cannot wait for the truth to be unveiled. The music is something of the best things I’ve ever heard.

      You’re right about the resemblance to Nadja Auermann. I loved her in the 90s, especially in the Versace and Blumarine campaigns.

Leave a Reply

