52nd Annual Grammy Awards

I must admit I had high expectation for the 52nd Annual Grammy Awards, but the red carpet generally left me quite cold. I mean, I adored some outfits (and you can see them in this post), but nothing blew me away.

I think I have a girl crush for Ciara: she’s extremely beautiful and talented, and her style is getting better and better, since she teamed up with Givenchy’s Riccardo Tisci. She walked the red carpet at the Grammys wearing a Givenchy Haute Couture dress (this comes from the Spring 2010 collection, so the one seen on Ciara is presumably the one seen on the catwalk), all made of black lace with beadings on the bodice and sleeves. She also wore over $250,000 in Cartier diamond jewellery –  a white gold and diamond cocktail ring and stud earrings. She styled her hair in a pony-tail and opted for a natural make-up. Love her milky pink lipstick! She was the best dressed of the event, in my opinion.


I don’t know what happened to Nicole Kidman, but she looked so beautiful last night, different from the Botox doll who attended the Golden Globes. She wore a Prada halterneck dress, with beaded embellishments on the bodice and at the waist-line. She accessorized it with Fred Leighton 19th-century diamond and enamel earrings and patent peep-toe pumps. I love love love her soft curls, styled in a chic updo, and I also like her neutral make-up.

I was expecting a flamboyant outfit from Jennifer Hudson, but she amazed me wearing a Victoria Beckham 3/4 sleeve banded mini dress instead. She looked gorgeous and it’s refreshing to see how this dress (designed by the thin-stick Posh Spice) suits her curves. She paired the dress with Yves Saint Laurent Trib Two pumps, transparent bangles and fresh-cut bangs.

I’ve always had a soft spot for Pink: she’s a great performer and a talented songstress, but for some reason she has never been able to lay her hands on a Grammy award. This year she was nominated for Best Female Pop Vocal Performance and for Best Pop Vocal Album: she won none, but she brought down the house with a breathless performance. Please take some time to watch her singing Glitter in the Air live while bound on a silk  sling hanging over the audience, it’s intense, original and real (especially if compared to Lady GaGa’s stale antics). I loved the Bob Mackie hooded white dress she wore on a transparent bodysuit before the performance [1], but I adored the Tony Ward Couture amazing ombre scalloped dress with mermaid line she wore on the red carpet.

This dress is magnificent and perfectly matches Pink’s wide array of tattoos. She also wore lots of diamond jewellery, including a lovely star brooch pinned on her platinum blonde short hair.

My second best dressed of the event was Rihanna. I’m actually appreciating the recent refined turn in her style, because it looks like she’s found her own voice and is not trying too hard to be fashion-forward at all costs. I know many of you hate her shaved-sided hairstyle, but I think it’s perfect for her and beautifully contrasts with the celestial Elie Saab Haute Couture dress she wore. The dress is stunning, with a long skirt made of chiffon, with drapings at the hips, and a bodice embellished with tiny feathers; the back cut-out is the icing on the cake. She also wore Neil Lane earrings and bracelet and Diamond in the Rough rings. I love her silvery eye make-up, too.

I have mixed feelings for Katy Perry: she’s a good entertainer, but she’s not a talented singer. I quite like her funny and colourful style, though; for this reason, I was quite surprised to see her wearing a Zac Posen backless nude dress, because I was expecting something crazier from her. Ok, not in her style, but this dress suited her so well: I love the nude colour, the sequin embroideries all over and the naked back, sexy! She also wore Casadei sandals and Dijan earrings. As a homage to India, which she has recently visited, she carried a Judith Leiber Elephant minaudiere (you might remember it on Mary-Kate Olsen, too) and a bindi on her forehead. I’m a sucker for short bangs, so I really like her hairstyle here.

Ke$ha is so cute: she thinks she’s a pop sensation, while she’s probably a one-hit wonder only. In the meantime, she wallows in her success and enjoys the moment, pretending to be a wild girl. What is sure is that she doesn’t care for fashion: am I the only one who thinks she gets dressed blindfolded? At the Grammy Awards she was a hot mess, wearing a fringed gold dress and brown platform sandals. This dress reminds me of Britney circa 2004, but it’s way more cheap-looking than the Roberto Cavalli dress Britney wore at the NRJ Awards. The only reason why I have chosen her is her glittering gold make-up, I love it so much!

Last but not least, here is Taylor Swift, who won awards for the Album of the Year, Best Female Country Vocal Performance, Best Coutry Song and Best Country Album. I cannot get the reason of her success, because I don’t like her musical style, but she’s a cute and unpretentious young girl and I guess she has worked hard to get where she is. For one night she ditched her trademark embellished short dresses and opted for a lovely Kaufman Franco blue sequined dres, which perfectly suited her fair complexion.  She also wore Lorraine Schwartz diamond drop earrings and Christian Louboutin pumps. I like her wavy updo and her coral lipstick, very chic.

What do you think of my selection of best dressed? Who was your favourite celebrity of the event?

[1] That transparent bodysuit has been criticized a lot, but I think she managed to look classy while being almost naked. And what about her glittering ankle-strap sandals? To die for!

Source and source.

Share

2 comments

  1. I, too, was left quite indifferent by the style choices of the ladies, although I appreciate JHud’s dress, which I could see also on myself, and Rihanna’s and Swift’s choices (Rihanna would look good even in a potato sack, me thinks :-D). Kidman’s face really looks loosened up a little from her usual stiffness, and I’m wondering: is the dress a little ill-fitting on her torso or maybe… could she be pregnant again? In that case, it could be The Glow…

Leave a Reply

