From the Valley to the Upper East Side: Lily Van Der Woodsen’s Style Cross-Over (3.09 – They Shoot Humphreys, Don’t They?)

After watching the latest episodes of Gossip Girl, I wasn’t really satisfied with the plot. In comparison to the first two seasons, it all seemed bland, dull and a bit boring. These were my impressions until They Shoot Humpreys, Don’t They?, the ninth episode of the third season, which has given us something to talk about. I really enjoyed the episode because the main event was the Cotillon, a ball introducing young girls to New York’s society [1], and this meant plenty of intrigues. I didn’t pay much attention to the much-hyped Dan/Vanessa/Olivia’s threesome (boring!), but I’m sure it will lead to important turns in the story; the same can be said for Serena working at Tripp Van Der Bilt’s office. Last but not least, our favourite character, Lily Van Der Woodsen, will surely have to face the possible return of her estranged husband, Serena and Eric’s father.

But no more about the plot, let’s focus on Lily’s outfits. She only had two outfit changes in the episode, both impressive. We first see her during the opening credits of the episode, while she’s overseeing the rehearsals of the ball.

black

Her outfit is conservative, simple and chic, and so is her hairstyle, a bun decorated by a tiny braid (I love these subtle bohemian details).

019

She is wearing a Marni short-sleeved black sheath dress, with a gathering on the neckline. I really like this dress: the fabric is weaved, the sleeves are slightly puffy and the gathering on the neckline makes it less plain.


021

Her accessories are Christian Louboutin patent pumps, Kenneth Jay Lane Regal teardrop earrings, gold rings and a gold bracelet with pearls and emeralds.

For the big event, Lily chooses a gorgeous Reem Acra satin long dress, with a cowl neck and a short train on the back.

satin

The champagne-coloured satin perfectly compliments her complexion and makes her glow.

0938

The dress is lovely, but what really shocked me is her crystal collar necklace, a piece designed by Reem Acra as well, the best accessory she could have picked for making the dress more special. I also like the barely-there make-up (all the focus is on the red lipstick) and the chic updo [2].

dark

When Lily and Rufus get back home, she’s wearing a white wrap sweater on the dress, a casual and relaxed touch to a formal outfit. The sweater is tied at the waist by a satin ribbon. I love this scene because the semidarkness makes everything romantic and mysterious: it is not coincidental that something unexpected is going to happen.

script

Before going to bed, Lily sits at her desk and looks through the incoming mail. Her attention is caught by a letter from Switzerland, addressed to Serena and sent by her father. We still don’t know what Lily will do (will she deliver the envelope or will she hide it from S?), but she looks lovely and grave at the same time with the black-rimmed spectacles.

What are your opinions about the episode? Do you think we’re going to face plenty of drama in the next episodes? I really hope so!

[1] This is the fictional Upper East Side version of the annual Bal des Débutantes, which takes place at the Hôtel de Crillon in Paris.

[2] Some of the hairstyles sported by the characters at the ball disappointed me: Jenny’s, for example, is hideous, so shapeless as it is (I love her gloves, though), and also Blair’s didn’t wow me. On the other hand, I really loved the half updo seen on the Plasticines‘ frontwoman, Katty Besnard, who performed at the ball.

Source.

Share

5 comments

  1. I really love Lily’s first outfit. I think it’s a daytime LBD, perfect for any occasion, imho.
    I also like her in the last image you posted, ‘at work’ but still in her elegant outfit- I think those glasses really suit her and clash with the necklace in a very nice way!!
    Nice lipstick too- I think lipstick should either be red or shouldn’t be there at all (in my case it’s almost always the second option, I love it but I’m still a bit awkward wearing it, also because i’m always afraid that it will look ‘too much’ paired with my perennialy smoky eyes!)

Leave a Reply

