Christina Aguilera’s Style: Variety’s 1st Annual Power of Women Luncheon, 24/09/09

I’m so happy Christina is back to the world. She’s been recently spotted out and about in Hollywood, but the most important event for her has been Variety’s 1st Annual Power of Women luncheon, held at the Beverly Wiltshire Hotel in Hollywood on 24th September 2009. She attended the event due to her position as the spokesperson for World Food Relief and its efforts to end world hunger.

variety-lunch-9249-39

I’m sure all her detractors have criticized her for the outfit she wore, but I honestly think she looks gorgeous. I’m not mad of the body-con skirt and short-sleeved top she chose, but they perfectly suit her.


06

I love her make-up here, with the trademark red lips and nails. The make-up on her eyes is subtle and the blush is just perfect. I also love her short bangs, but I don’t like the half updo, because I think it’s the wrong hairstyle for this occasion. I would have preferred a simple updo.

36

She chose sparkling bracelets – made of silver, white gold, diamonds and pearls – and diamond rings (the one on her ring finger is her engagement ring, a stunning five-carat diamond and platinum jewel by Stephen Webster) as accessories.

bat

The most remarkable jewel she wore is the platinum and diamond Batmoth ring, a quirky creation by Stephen Webster. The London goldsmith is Aguilera’s personal jeweller: she has been the face of Stephen Webster Jewellery for two seasons, and he has created custom-made jewels [1] for her since she got engaged to Jordan Bratman. His unique mix of Gothic and modern jewellery is not of my taste, but some of his pieces are so original!

ambro

The shoes she wore are peep-toe platform pumps by Christian Louboutin. Isn’t the contrast between the black lace/patent leather and the red soles/toe nails sublime?

ambro lace

These are the Ambro Lace pumps, so sexy! I am not surprised Christina wore Louboutin pumps, because she’s a huge fan and collector of his shoes [2].

1qstaq

InStyle‘s October 2009 issue includes a nice photospread of Christina’s house [3]. I love this image, shot in her closet room: she poses for the camera while perched on a ladder, and little Max stands among his mommy’s shoes. I’m not a great shoe fan (I prefer bags), but I’d love to raid her amazing collection, most part of which surely includes Louboutin shoes.

[1] Her Webster custom-made pieces include a gold necklace with microphone pendant (she has been recently spotted wearing it) and a heart-shaped locket. She received the first jewel when she wrapped her album Back to Basics (the old-shaped microphone is reminiscent of the jazz and soul eras), while the second is a present from Jordan for her first Mother’s Day: it is made of platinum, diamonds and enamel, and includes a sword – piercing the heart – and a blood droplet.

[2] I’ll soon devote a post to her Louboutin collection.

[3] Isn’t it funny Christina and her family are living in the Beverly Hills mansion previously owned by the Osbournes? This should be funny at least for those who remember the senseless feud between Kelly Osbourne and Christina, back in 2003.

Source and source.

Share

6 comments

    1. Even if I don’t own a pair yet, I’m a Louboutin fan, so I’d really love to raid the red soled section of her massive shoe closet😉 Moreover, she’s as tall as me, so maybe we have the same shoe size (which would make things easier!).

  1. and it’s always ecouraging to see petite celebs pull off such daring looks :o)
    just wondering if she’s wearing separates or a dress with a knitted midsection… (not that I like it particularly either)

Leave a Reply

