Diary of a Nail Polish Addict: September 2012

After the blue explosion of August, my manicures progressively became less and less colourful. The arrival of autumn (which means lots of rain and chill) and the beginning of a new school year characterized last month. This year I’m teaching at a vocational high school quite far from home: I spend part of my days driving, so doing my nails is an activity I don’t have much time to devote to.

In any case, here is what I sported on my nails in September 2012.

At the beginning of the month I was still in a summery mood, so I did this nice polka-dot manicure. I wanted to achieve a gradient effect: the result is far from being good, but I really had fun in doing it. I’ll surely try it again and maybe I’ll slowly improve (hope so). As a base I used Essie Lovie Dovie; I used OPI Alpine Snow, China Glaze Something Sweet and Color Club Poptastic for the dots.

This picture was taken by B, who has become the official photographer of Diary of a Nail Polish Addict  ;) I really like the combination of different shades of pink and a touch of white, but next time I’ll try to do smaller dots and maybe I’ll opt for a different colour combo.

This manicure was an experiment went wrong. When I first used Essence Hello Holo, I fell in love with its amazing iridescent effect, so I decided to use it alone, not as a top coat. The result didn’t satisfy me: I applied three coats, but the nail was still visible. The lesson I learnt from this manicure? Using Hello Holo as top coat only.

This is the most recent addition to my small collection of Essence nail polishes. Walk of Fame is a very unique shade: I guess it can be considered “muddy” (the same family as Chanel Particulière). I’ve always been a bit perplexed when it comes to these shades, so this is the first “muddy” nail polish I own. The best part of Walk of Fame? It changes with light! If you look at the pictures above, you can see what I mean: they were taken a few seconds one after the other, under a slightly different daylight. In the first picture it looks grey, but in the second one you can see it’s actually a mix of grey, light brown and pink, a very chic and versatile colour.

In September I also wore one of my favourite shades – the ever-spectacular Across the Universe by Deborah Lippmann. I applied two coats of Chanel Black Satin first, followed by three coats of the gorgeous sparkler. The black base makes it sparkle even more, but it looks good by itself, too.

Share your opinions on my manicures in the comments. Does the arrival of autumn mean new shades on your nails or do you prefer wearing summery colours despite the change of season?

4 comments

  1. Great manicures! Love the pink polka dots, I tried to do polka dots myself, but didn’t turn out good. I hope to improve! As for the shades I go with the mood, I’m thinking of paint my nails Tangerine for the next mani!

    1. Polka dots are so versatile! I’ve seen lots of different polka-dot manicures on Instagram and I’d like to try them all ;)

  2. I’m quite conservative in manicure. Usually I choose bright colour as red-orange or fuchsia in summer, during the autumn/winter my favourites are the blood red, fire red or other dark shades. Honestly, I don’t like very much these fancy manicures but I think you are very good to make them. I want pay my compliments to Miss B. She’s a very good photographer!

    1. I can see your point. I’ve always loved conservative manicures but trying new manicures and unusual colours is so funny!
      Miss B thanks you very much for the compliment :)

Leave a Reply

