From the Valley to the Upper East Side: Lily Van der Woodsen’s Style On the Set

Summer is coming to an end, even if the weather is hotter than ever in Italy. The tv shows I’ve been watching these months (True Blood, Bunheads and Pretty Little Liars) are slowly completing the current season and the new episodes of others are just around the corner. As for Gossip Girl, the protagonists are working on the 6th season; I’m glad Kelly Rutherford is filming outdoor scenes because we are given the chance to see the outfits of her character. I must admit I’m impressed by what we’ve seen so far: the storyline will probably be poor, but her outfits will totally make up for it.

The actress was spotted in New York on August 17th, filming scenes with Ed Westwick. She sported a very nice outfit, which included a short-sleeved printed dress, black pumps and matching flat clutch. Despite being in tune with Lily’s trademark style, this look is duller than the sensational green and blue one seen last week.

Her dress is a Marni creation: it’s made of duchesse printed in Papyro pattern, it has two front pockets and a long gold zip on the back. This is the first time she has worn a dress by the Italian brand but I’m glad she did because the pattern and the lady-like shape of the dress are perfect for her.

Her shoes are lovely, too: she wore a pair of Danielle suede pointed-toe pumps by Sam Edelman. I’m not a fan of high heels but these are gorgeous: metallic heels always remind me of the Tom Ford era at Gucci in the 90s and the pointed toes are such an elegant detail.

She accessorized this simple outfit with a Chic Royalty cocktail ring by Swarovski, embellished by a row of cream crystal pearls and an ombré set of Pointiage crystals.

She also wore another crystal ring and a stunning pair of moonstone (or opal?) clip-on earrings. I’ve tried to identify them but I haven’t succeeded yet. If you have information about these, please drop me a line!

I’ve said many times that I’m not looking forward to the final instalment of this tv show, but watching backstage pictures and seeing Lily’s lovely outfits is making me change my mind. What about you?

Source, source, source and source.

3 comments

Leave a Reply

