Oui, Je Suis Une NARS-issist!

It’s been a while since I wrote about my obsession with NARS cosmetics. Don’t worry: my love is not waning, I’m still a proud NARSissist, but I haven’t bought anything from my favourite make-up brand lately [1]. In any case, two collections have been launched since last April, so here are the details.

The Fall 2010 collection introduces a new testimonial, the heiress and style icon Daphne Guinness, who was among the celebrities portrayed by François Nars for the 15×15 project.

The picture above is different from the usually understated NARS campaigns: Daphne is posing among mirrors, and her image is reflected and amplified several times. I think her outfit is just amazing – the powder pink leather corset by Una Burke with pearls and flower-shaped embellishments, is in perfect Guinness style. I was a bit surprised of her hair colour: without the platinum blonde streak in her black hair, she looks very different. Her original and over-the-top style is the primary source of inspiration for this collection, where – according to the artist – Old Hollywood and a futuristic look meet.

The collection includes two eyeshadow duos (Rajasthan - metallic beige/blue-black charcoal – and Tzarine – platinum gold infused with gold and silver reflections/steel grey), three single eyeshadows (Daphne – deep violet, Mangrove – soft yellow-green – and Coconut Grove – deep taupe brown), a soft touch shadow pencil (Palladium, turquoise with silver glitter), a blush (Douceur, soft pink-brown), a lipstick (Rouge Basque, brick red) and a lipgloss (Strawberry Fields, bright strawberry pink). I am crazy for lip colours, so I’d really love to try both the lipstick and the lipgloss. Though not impressed by NARS eyeshadows, I’d give Rajasthan and Coconut Grove a try.

Many other NARS products have been recently launched. It’s the case of three Multiple Tints: their tube form is reminiscent of the Multiples, but these are different in purpose. They are sheer but buildable colours for cheeks and lips.

The shades are Cadaqués (bright fuchsia), Beverly Hills (bright red) and Turks & Caicos (bright orange). They all look scary in the tube, but they are actually sheer. Since I am a die-hard fan of rosy cheeks, I’d surely go for Cadaqués.

Another mini-collection which has been recently launched is a Sephora exclusive, limited-edition lipcolours matching some of the most famous NARS blushes. When I first heard it, I was really excited, because I hoped they had picked up my favourite blushes.

Unfortunately, they chose not-so-interesting shades: Angelika is plum berry, Super Orgasm is peachy pink with gold glitter, Albatross is clear with luminous glow, Luster is sheer golden apricot and Oasis is sparkling pink champagne. Some of them are kind of a let down: I have Angelika in blush form and is undoubtedly pink, so this plum berry shade confuses me.

The Summer 2010 collection was inspired by one of my favourite fictional character, the ice-cold Séverine, protagonist of Luis Buñuel’s masterpiece, Belle de Jour. Nars must be obsessed by this movie, since one of his beige nude lipstick was called after it.

The beauty and inner sophistication of the character played by Catherine Deneuve emerges in a gorgeous collection, where cold and pastel tones dominate. After the Spring 2010 collection, Amber Valletta is again the face of the brand.

In this picture, taken behind the scenes, images of Catherine Deneuve as Séverine can seen everywhere, used as source of reference.

The collection includes a cream eyeshadow (Cayenne, dark chocolate with suble gold flecks), a cream eyeshadow duo (Burn It Blue, iridescent ocean blue with golden mist/turquoise blue) and a cream blush (Enchanted, soft peach with gold sparkle), a lip gloss (Coup de Coeur, sheer apple brandy) and a lipstick (Love Devotion, sheer guava), a Multiple (Lamu, glazed apricot with gold sparkle) and a nail polish (Versaillies, champagne gold). I’ve never tried NARS cream eyeshadows, but I’m so drawn to Burn It Blue, an amazing combination of blue shades!

The collection also included a new product, the Pure Sheer SPF lip treatment, a sheer and subtle colour in slim stick.

Amber looks so beautiful in this promotional picture! I usually don’t like when blondes wear yellow, but she is lovely here.

The lip treatment comes in six shades: Aurore (seashell pink), Paloma (cantaloupe), Angélique (strawberry), Greta (mauve), Lara (pastel pink) and Bianca (pearl). I am not interested in this product, to be honest: the reviews I’ve read are not positive at all and the colour range is rather bland, in my opinion.

Before closing the post, here is a NARS sighting in one of my favourite tv shows, True Blood.

This picture comes from an episode of the third season: at Fangtasia, Pam (Kristin Bauer), Eric’s fascinating brood, is colouring her lips using a Velvet Matte lip pencil, while Jessica Hamby (Deborah Ann Woll), Bill’s brood, looks at her in adoration. Some beaty bloggers say she used the pencil in Damned, a rich magenta (appropriate name indeed), but I’m not sure: maybe she was wearing Cruella, a passionate scarlet red which happens to be one of my favourite reds ever.

What are your opinions on these two collections? Have you tried anything from them yet?

[1] But at the moment I’ve got my eyes on Honolulu Honey (the last chance I have to find the *perfect* nude lipstick in the NARS range of lip colours) and on the duo combining Moon Fleet lipgloss and Indian Red lip stain gloss.

Source, source, source and source.

Share

Leave a Reply

